We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Brighton to your Saves list
Thistle Brighton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2GS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked a last minute weekend break with the 2 kids just to get away. Sooo many hotels to choose from, really didn't know which to go for. Many hotels didn't have family rooms at such short notice. So we took a chance with the Thistle, although a little more what we would have chosen to have paid, but thought if we paid a bit more it would be a nicer experience. We weren't disappointed!
Worried a little about the parking so pre-booked on the Thistle's website for the NCP, and it was easy, specially being able to walk straight into the lobby from the car park! However, arriving on a Friday helped because the queue to get into the car park on the Saturday was ridiculous!
Checking in was easy, concierge was very friendly to the kids, staff and reception polite and helpful.
Room was perfectly adequate, 2 comfy double beds, with nice fluffy towels. The furnishings and bathroom was a little dated but it was very clean.
Location is perfect, which I suppose reflects the price, practically opposite the pier. We had a room on the side as no family rooms face the sea, but although on the side we still had a glorious sea view which was a nice surprise.
The self service breakfast was lovely, couldn't fault it. Cooked brekky, waffles, omelettes all cooked to order but the prepared fresh fruit was our favourite.
Loved the huge Atrium, perfect to sit and have a drink and people watch.
Pool was good, not very big but kids didn't complain.
Didn't seem to hear much corridor noise at night, some from the road (we were on the 2nd floor) But you are in Brighton and it didn't go on all night....
We have stayed in The Grove in Watford before now which is stupid expensive and really couldn't work out why. We much preferred The Thistle. Better value, not as big, and friendlier people!
Would we go back....? absolutely!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonSmile, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Brighton, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I will make sure that your kinds comments are passed on the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Kindest regards,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    574
    253
    107
    52
See reviews for
282
546
40
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We booked this hotel as a little break due to my husband suffering with relapsed cancer.
We requested a possible upgrade due to our situation .
We were greeted by a very nice Spanish lady on reception . Fantastic customer service skills. She acknowledged our request and put us in a nice sea view room .
The bed was huge and very comfortable . Lovely view over the sea.
Tea/coffee facilities . Hairdryer, and iron and usual toiletries.
Our only moan would be the old fashioned and tired bathroom.
We didn't eat in the hotel but did stop for drinks pre and post dinner. Very comfortable lounge/lobby with lovely views of the sea.
The car park is very expensive £20 for 24 hours and that's with hotel discount.
Lovely 2 days away which was much needed and fortunate to have fabulous weather.
Brighton is nice with always a lively atmosphere , however hotels are massively over priced and need modernising , Even the grand and the Hilton looked like they could do with a good sprucing up, and they are the next grade up! .Come on England smarten up your sea sides, we have a long way to go before we match the high standard of BEAUTIFUL holiday hotels abroad at a fraction of the price..If we wish to attract foreign tourists or encourage Brits to holiday at home we need to be brought into the 21st century.

Overall we had a lovely romantic time and a big thanks to the very sweet Spanish receptionist.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonSmile, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Brighton, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hotel is subject to continuous investment with all our bedrooms being refreshed earlier this year with new carpets, curtains and new bedding and with bathrooms planned later on this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Kindest regards,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We visited in June '14 to share 'Afternoon Tea' between 4 friends.
The hotel has a relatively modern concrete facade and overlooks Brighton Beach. The view FROM the restaurant is definitely better than that of the hotel.
However - we had a wonderful 3 hours, with very attentive staff serving delicious sndwiches,, scones, cakes and tea.
We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonSmile, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Brighton, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time our afternoon tea.
I was very happy to see that you enjoyed the moment with us. The view from the restaurant is, indeed, one of the best in Brighton.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Kind regards,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed the one night and It was good but expensive. Coming from Somerset the car was the best travel option. The hotel has a garage which it shares with the local council. The first problem was trying to get into the car park as there were roadworks and the instructions on the hotel's website are not a lot of help unless you come in on the A23. Anyway after half an hour or so and the odd illegal turn we made it. Reception was somewhat understaffed with only one person on duty, but the spanish receptionist was friendly and helpful. Our room was upgraded and we had a partial sea view. The bed was comfortable if a little large. 2 queen size(?) beds. The bath room could use some updating and it took a while to work out how the shower worked. Only one bank of 2 lifts so long, narrow corridors. Free mini rough guide and Peter James novel novel which unfortunately I had already read. Breakfast was included and it was a very good cooked buffet. The surprise though was the bill. I thought that £259 is too much to pay although booked at short notice for one night. Then add the parking £20 for 24 hours and an additional £18 to keep the car inthe car park until 6.00pm on the day we left.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonSmile, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Brighton, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us experience. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the rest of the team.
The car park belongs to Brighton and Hove City council. Our residents are getting a 15% discount on the normal price. The Lanes car park entrance is situated on Black Lyon Street, a street adjacent to the hotel. The hotel also has an entrance on the seafront
.
We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Kind regards,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

When we first arrived we were greeted by some lovely members of staff who sorted our bags and bits out, as a surprise for my birthday Jerome arranged a card and present in my room! There is a very relaxed feel to the Thistle and the location is outstanding, going straight onto the lanes and opposite Brighton Pier! Overall i had a fantastic stay and cant wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonSmile, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Brighton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
I was delighted to read that you had a great birthday and stay with us. I am also happy that you liked the little present. I will make sure that your comments are passed on the rest of the team. :))

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our 2 year old son. The rooms were lovely and spacious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had afternoon tea and it was delicious. Location on the hotel us amazing, exit through the front and you are a very short walk from the pier and exit from the back and there are an array of restaurants and shops nearby. Definitely diurnal recommend a stay here, nod we will hopefully return to drag again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonSmile, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Brighton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kindest regards,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed at the Thistle on the weekend of the London to Brighton bike ride. I only spent one night, but it was very comfortable. The room was spacious and clean and the staff courteous and helpful. The breakfast was really good. We almost didn't book breakfast in the hotel, as there are so many nice places to go and eat in Brighton, but I'm glad we did. We used the buffet which had everything I could possibly have wanted: fruit juices, plentiful cooked food (very good quality), fresh fruit, cereals, mini pastries, cheese and cold meats; you could even request the chef to make you a fresh waffle, which came served warm on a stick and was excellent (particularly drowned in maple syrup). We all ate too much! The dining area is lovely - the atrium is light, spacious and attractive, and has a laid-back feel. The huge open space swallows the noise of the reception area, leaving a pleasant background hum. The hotel happily stored bikes for my friends after they had completed the bike ride, and had an efficient service of labelling bikes up to make collection easy. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 160 which did not have a view but was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonSmile, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Brighton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was glad to hear to you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I will pass on your kind feedback to the rest of the team. We work really hard to make breakfast a great start of the day and your comments are much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kindest regards,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Brighton

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#5 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As relaxed and easy-going as the city itself, Thistle Brighton is situated directly on the seafront and just a short stroll from the Pier, with some of the South’s best shopping, theatre and entertainment also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Thistle Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Brighton Hotel Brighton
Brighton Thistle Hotel
Brighton Hotel Thistle
Brighton Hotel In Thistle
Thistle Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.