We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Brighton to your Saves list
Thistle Brighton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2GS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Stayed for two nights end of July. Travelled with my husband and 6 months old baby. The location of this hotel is great - beautiful views onto the prom. We found the staff to very friendly and most helpful. Check-in/out was smooth and fast. Great restaurant - outstanding breakfast. The rooms were spotless. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return for a longer stay at some time in the future.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The walk to the car park!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    575
    253
    107
    52
See reviews for
282
548
40
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Just returned from a 4 night stay in a family side sea view room with my husband and 9 yr old daughter. Fantastic location and the welcome we received from Ken the concierge, has put other 5 star hotels to shame! Instantly made us feel welcome and took time to let us know about all the attractions nearby without having to be asked. Comfortable room and managed to get an extra bed put in for our daughter but with lots of huffing, puffing and head shaking from the lady from guest services...! Biggest downside, as mentioned in previous reviews, is that the windows in these rooms do not open and the air com blows out hot air and it has been very warm and sunny for the last few days! Complained frequently and were eventually given a portable air conditioning unit which worked ok but had to be filled with ice every 3 hours, not exactly practical and literally had to take paracetamol to reduce my temperature during the night because it got so hot! Would have given a higher rating but feel slightly 'ripped off' that we paid extra for this room when, if we had not gone for a sea view, we would have paid less and been able to open the windows for some much needed fresh air!

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — no working air con
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

I stayed here on business for one night, with my husband. We had a seaview deluxe room and the view was really excellent. The room was nicely decorated, clean and very relaxing. I would have liked opening windows though.

The location of this hotel is the greatest draw, right IN the Lanes, with entrances to the front (seafront) and back (The Lanes). We had a lovely evening despite the rather miserable weather for July.

There was some noise in the early hours of the morning, with some men shouting and apparantly fighting on the seafront, but that's not the fault of the hotel, and goes with the locatiion in this very "party" area on a Friday night!

  • Liked — the location and the view
  • Disliked — bar service a little slow, and the room was quite pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I was a little concerned at some of the feedback before I booked, but I think some of the reviews have been a little harsh now that I have had my own experience. I was traveling with 3 work colleagues and looked for a hotel that was central as we only had one night in Brighton wanted to visit The Lanes and Pier. Arrived about 6pm - only one lass at reception but that only held us up for 10 mins whilst she check in another party. The concierge was helpful as i wanted to find a particular restaurant and he quickly produced a map and showed me how to get there by foot.
The rooms were clean and many rooms look into the atrium, talking of which, is very impressive. I didn't drink at the bar but it looked well equipped and although not busy - but it was a Monday night.

The car park is a public car park - just drive past the hotel entrance (coast side of hotel) and there is a small slip road that takes you into the ramp for the car park.

Overall I thought it was OK for price paid. I have attached some photo of the room and atrium.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

My friend and I booked the Thistle, which overlooks the seafront and is very close to the pier as she liked the look of the foyer, which is rather impressive inside. The hotel does not tell you that the Lanes car park, entrance to the left of the hotel is, in fact their car park, you just have to access it from the front of the hotel. This is the only thing that lets down the Thistle, the urine stained stairwells that greet you as you take your cases up to their clean immaculate foyer, still reeling from the smell. We were very fortunate to get a sea view and also to be allowed to check in early. The staff are friendly and helpful and our room was a decent size. We paid 175.00 for a twin room for one night, parking was 15.00 extra and so was the breakfast. For a decent cheaper breakfast, exit from the rear of the hotel into the plaza and the first street you reach before getting to the Lanes, there is a cafe just to the right, it begins with'P' I believe. It is a quirky place, but the scrambled eggs went down well.

  • Liked — The jewellery counters in the foyer
  • Disliked — The urine lined stairwells and the smell that accompanied them.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleBrighton, General Manager at Thistle Brighton, responded to this review, May 21, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on Tripadvisor.
The Lanes car park is owned and operated by Brighton & Hove Council. The hotel lease spaces from the council and have a separate entrance for our guests at the front of the hotel. I will pass on your comments regarding the stairwells to the council. We do have a lift that stops at levels 2 and 4 of the car park and goes directly to our Reception.
All hotel rates in Brighton tend to be much higher for a one night stay on a Saturday night. Lower rates are available if you stay for more than one night or choose an alternative day to stay.
I was pleased that you felt that our staff were friendly and helpful and that the hotel is rather impressive inside.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Thistle on some future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Always wanted to stay here and I wasn't disappointed. Friendly, welcoming staff. Beautiful lounge bar with atrium (drinks a little expensive), relaxed atmosphere, huge room well kitted out including fridge, iron and ironing board. Cocktail waiter even obliged by coming to our room to uncork a bottle of wine we put in the fridge! Good breakfast and lovely to sit overlooking the sea while you eat. Look out for deals as it would have cost over double had we stayed on a Saturday rather than a Friday.

  • Liked — room, staff, lounge bar and fantastic location on sea front
  • Disliked — wine prices
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon , Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Booked through late rooms.com at a rate of £89.00 for the room inc breakfast. Location was excellent near Brighton pier and lanes. Check in was fast and smooth, Room 344 was a good size ,and had a nice view of the town hall . The breakfast service was a little slow but very tasty. i would book the Hotel again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Brighton

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As relaxed and easy-going as the city itself, Thistle Brighton is situated directly on the seafront and just a short stroll from the Pier, with some of the South’s best shopping, theatre and entertainment also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Thistle Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Brighton Hotel Brighton
Brighton Thistle Hotel
Brighton Hotel Thistle
Brighton Hotel In Thistle
Thistle Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.