We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalaire Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalaire Hotel to your Saves list
Cavalaire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Upper Rock Gardens | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Cavalaire for three nights over the Brighton Marathon weekend as I was running in the race. Derek and Garry are great hosts, and the location is perfect - just a short walk from the pier and the lanes. They also provided really good suggestions for bars and restaurants which was helpful since this was the first time in Brighton for both of us. I also really appreciate how supportive they were during my marathon weekend, going so far as to make a donation to the charity I was running for! And since I was going to be missing breakfast the day of my race they put a good selection of food in my room the night before. Also when my parents contacted them from Canada they put together a very nice platter of cheese and wine for celebrating after the race, which was a welcome surprise and my parents were also very appreciative of how considerate and helpful they were. I will definitely look them up the next time I go to Brighton!

Room Tip: Room 3 is very nice; it's on the first floor, very spacious with high ceilings and a massive sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    53
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
54
374
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Recently stayed here from Wednesday to Friday with my ten year old daughter. Derek and Garry are excellent hosts. We stayed in room 9 which was lovely although in the middle of some refurbishment which will make it even nicer when completed. Lovely beds and bed linen and good powerful shower. Nothing was too much trouble for Derek and Garry and they helped us with all manner of things from providing lovely coffee and biscuits on arrival together with a welcome chat and overview of where everything was in Brighton complete with a map, then carrying luggage up to the top floor to ordering taxis and they gave us great recommendations where and where not to go. Breakfast is fabulous with a wide choice. The English breakfast, pancakes and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs were all superb. The Cavalaire is superbly located especially if you do not have a car. We walked everywhere - to the Pier, The Laines and The Pavilion etc and there are so many restaurants within walking distance that we were spoilt for choice. Kemptown is fabulous if you like interesting and vibrant especially at night and although our room faced the road it was very peaceful. We felt as though we were house guests rather than hotel guests and would highly recommend the Cavalaire. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Cavalaire and have had a wonderful stay. Derek and Garry were great hosts. From the moment we arrived they welcomed us with a lovely cup of tea and biscuits which we really appreciated after our 2 hour car journey. The room was very cosy and immaculately clean. Derek was always happy to help (with the odd joke or 2) and was always full of local information for us on where to eat/shop etc. I would have liked to see a bit more of Garry too, he was however doing an excellent job in the kitchen preparing a wonderful full English breakfast which my husband thoroughly enjoyed (thankyou Garry). I will deffinately stay there again and will be highly reccomending the Cavalaire to my friends and family. Thankyou Derek and Garry for your kind hospitallity. x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordogne
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this great little place. Derek and Garry are very welcoming, Garry prepares a wonderful breakfast. They can't do enough to ensure you have everything you need. Our daughter lives in Hove and for sure as long as there is a room in the Cavalaire my wife and I will be there as it is better than any 5 star hotel. Rooms are spotless, it is in Kemptown with all its small shops and restaurants and a few minutes from the sea front....Thanks once again guys

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's true! All the positive comments written about this lovely guest house are actually correct. We spent a happy short break there recently and although the weather was extremely cold and snowing, the warmth of the welcome and hospitality at Cavalaire more than dispelled the freezing temperature.
Our room (7) was very spacious and comfortable. Attention to detail is very noticeable throughout the house. But best of all is the friendly and helpful attitude of both Derek and Garry. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts (cooked by Garry) were the best we have had for a long time. Expect plenty of teasing and banter from Derek. After all, laughter is a great tonic too.
We definitely recommend this establishment and would stay again if we were in the area. Thankyou Derek and Garry.

Room Tip: We upgraded to room 7 as it is bigger and higher up than room 5 which is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A lovely hotel, hosted by very lovely people who do everything possible to make you feel at home. Hot chocolate & coffee on arrival got things off to a good start. Bedroom was warm and comfy, hotel is immaculately clean and tidy. Breakfast was delicious and with such attentive service you feel really spoiled! Hotel is in a good location for getting out and about. Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A warm, clean and friendly hotel, location was very good for shops, bars, restaurants and sea front. Our room was lovely and Derek and Garry were very helpful and professional. We would highly recommend this hotel (B&B).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalaire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalaire Hotel

Address: 34 Upper Rock Gardens | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalaire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Four Star Guest Accommodation. Deluxe, stylish Bed and Breakfast Boutique Guest House in a central location. Built in 1888 this Victorian House recently refurbished to a very high standard. Given a Gold Award by Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 5 years. Breakfast award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 4 years. Individually styled rooms with contemporary furnishings and fabrics. Each room has an en suite shower room with basin and wc. All our rooms also offer the following facilities: Luxury toiletries • luxury hand towels and bath sheets • extra large duvets • Mini-Fridge (excludes standard rooms) • 32 inch flat panel television (22 inch in Standard room) • DAB Digital/FM Radio with iPod Docking Station radio alarm clock • professional hairdryer • Beverage tray • iron and ironing board • free wireless internet access • non-smoking • breakfast included • discount for single occupancy on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cavalaire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalaire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.