We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful traditional english hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Brighton to your Saves list
The Grand Brighton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A beautiful traditional english hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Brighton at the grande as a treat for us both. We only live in littlehampton so we caught the train to Brighton as parking in and around Brighton is expensive. On arrival we walked into the magnificent foyer where we welcomed by the friendly reception staff. The hotel oozes splendour and tradition with high ceilings plush furnishings and huge stairways.
Booking in took around five minutes and were told our room was on the sixth floor with a sea view. Inside our room was splendid with lovely furnishings and colours that matched the room perfectly. I think the bed was a queen sized one as we have a king at home at it was bigger than ours and very comfy. The room itself was big with a separate dressing area with mirror and wardrobe. Bathroom was clean and a good size with bath and shower as one. Very nice.
We spent most of the afternoon in and around Brighton and ended up on the sea front having a few drinkies and went back to the hotel around 18.00 pm.
Our table for the evening real was booked for eight o'clock and we headed on down to the lovely restaurant where we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our table. The menu is very good with a mix of sea food and meat dishes of steak etc. we went for the surf and turf which was chunky chips served in a mini chip fryer basket which looked really good, mushrooms, tomato, king prawns and fillet steak. With a peppercorn sauce.
The meal was lovely, steak was amazing !!!!! Cooked to perfection!!!! Service was good with the staff talking and asking how the meal was. Atmosphere was really good in the restaurant as it was not full so your eardrums were not damaged with too much noise. The restaurant isn't cheap to eat in.... But what do you expect? It's top end stuff. Bottles of wine can be around £32.00 each which is not cheap... So I had a couple of French glasses of wine at £7.00 each( still not cheap) but nice all the same.
This is nice hotel where the staff try their best to be helpful and friendly..... But it ain't cheap!! So be prepared!!
We enjoyed our stay there for one night.... Would we go back?..... Yes we would as it was a real taste of the good life.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    777
    407
    222
    114
See reviews for
357
1,330
66
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Cambs, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed the weekend of 2nd & 3rd August 2013. Booked through expedia, very competitive rate, arrived with my dog & had a lovely stay. We were in Brighton to visit a friend for her birthday party, it was also Pride weekend so all very busy. We had a standard double room on the back of the house. The room was nicely decorated & quite spacious, the staff at the hotel are incredibly friendly and helpful - also make lovely cocktails.
On the downside, There is no air conditioning in the rooms & there were a lot of vents etc outside the window - ducting of some sort so there was quite a lot of exterior noise - so didnt want to have windows open). I also think that whilst there is a great choice of foods for breakfast, it would probably be nicer & a better quality if you ordered your cooked breakfast was it served - I think it perfectly acceptable to collect your toast, pastries, fruit yoghurt etc but the quality of the cooked was not great. Lastly, the lifts can be very busy in the mornings at breakfast / checkout time. even from 5th floor, the stairs are quicker - up & down!
Overall, it was a lovely stay, the concierge, valets, front of house staff - all made the experience one I will repeat - hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Whilst I have put some negative comments, I was generally very happy in my room - obviously a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of July on one of the hottest days of the year. Only stayed for 1 night but it was glorious. We bought an offer off of spabreaks.com where we got a one night stay b&b, 3 course meal and a 60 minute treatment in their new spa (with access to their facilities) for £110 per person. What a great deal!! While the main hotel décor itself could do with a makeover, the rooms are fantastic and modern looking. A huuuuuge king size bed, flat screen telly, Starbucks coffee machine and a Bose sound system were all in the room. The only downside of the room was that there didn't appear to be any air conditioning and our room was on the side of the hotel opposite a building that had generators and fans on its roof.

The three course meal that was included in the price of the stay was in the GB1 restaurant in the hotel. It is a wonderful place and the food is delicious. You an either have 3 courses from the set menu or, if there is nothing you fancy on there, you can get a £27pp allocation from the a la carte menu. My partner had the scallops and breaded monkfish cheeks and I had the mussels and fish and chips. We both had crème brulee for dessert. Everything was cooked to perfection and we would definitely go back there.

Breakfast was wonderful as well - everything cooked how I like it. I read a review on this hotel before going and someone mentioned about the serving dishes being to high for someone to see in and I thought they were exaggerating but having been here and having a partner who is only 5ft 4", I can confirm that they are a little bit on the "out of reach" side. Make sure you have someone tall with you :)

That brings me finally to the spa. Wow is all I can say about it. It is incredible - located underneath the hotel and only a couple of weeks old when we visited, it is one of the nicest looking spas I have been to. The therapists are very friendly and make you feel very relaxed. Their relaxation room is the best I have ever seen.

The location of the hotel is fantastic as it is right on the sea front and right near the town. Would recommend the deal we bought to everyone too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our room on 2nd floor was perfect - the bed was so comfortable, there was even 2 types of pillow to suit ones preference. Sea-view room is a must-have!

The service here was great - attentive, friendly, helpful and polite. I really felt looked after and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed for 2 nights and I looked forward to breakfast in the mornings as it was very tasty, fresh and plenty of choice.

A very pleasant stay in this hotel and it's in a good location - 5 minutes walk to the shops and Brighton pier, and over the road from the beach.

Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had a reservation in july and it was a very hot day. When inspecting our room we found it far to warm for a pleasant stay. No airco in a place like this is really strange and a no-go. The (very friendly) staff offered us an other room and a fan - but we thought that wouldn't solve the problem. Then they arranged for us to stay in the thistle hotel - just a block away. That was excellent service and we had a great stay there. So maybe next time (in the winter?) we will stay at The De Vere...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last month for a birthday treat and I have to say that the hotel was lovely and was in a great location and the staff were very friendly and could not be more helpful.
The hotel room was great, we were up on the 6th floor with a view of the sea so this made it really nice. The bed was really comfortable and having a fridge in the room was also nice. One thing that did let it down was the water pressure on the shower, this was very weak and hard to wash your hair in it.
The other problem with the room was the heat, I don't think I have ever stayed in a room that was so hot, we were given 2 fans but this did not make much difference. I know we happen to stayed when the temp was just over 31 degrees and the fact that this is a listed building and they are not allowed to put air con units on the outside of the building so it was not really something that the hotel could easly sort out. However this is supposed to be one of the best hotels in Brighton I am sure there is something they could do to make this situation better.

The other major problem that suprised me considering again the quality of the hotel was how badly the breakfast arrangments were. On the 2 mornings we were there something was always running out, eggs, bacon, baked beans. At one point we were told because they were so busy we would have to wait 10 mins for more bacon! Surely that hotel know how many people they have to cater for? The whole think was manic with people waiting and queueing and we even had to wait to get seated.
I don't think we will be returning to this hotel for these reasons, I am sure you can do better for the cost of this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmcd31
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely, and in a great location. Our room was of a good size and the bathroom well proportioned. However, the stay was marred by the temperature of the room. We were on the 5th floor, and asked for an air cooler. This didn't really help and made a racket.

To be fair the staff did give us the offer of moving to a different room, and we got a late checkout till 4 which was good as we weren't leaving till later. Breakfast was good too. However I would stay elsewhere next time as I spent every night tossing and turning

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.