We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metrodeco

Metrodeco
38 Upper St James St, Brighton, England
01273 677243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 874 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: A lively tea room that also serves wine and beers. We specialise in Afternoon tea and tea cocktails and are dog friendly too. For something a little bit different and for a little treat then come and see us- you won't believe the size of our cakes.
c
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Popped into Metro Deco for a snack and cuppa, on hearing good things about them and also seeing it featured on a tv programme some time ago. The furniture was retro the ambience ok. I found the staff quite dismissive and unfriendly.
The food which we had was good and the tea was ok. The cake selection looked nice but I didn't have any. I would rather feel welcomed and at ease when I choose to eat somewhere but unfortunately that didn't happen here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    36
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had some close family visiting the day from California, so decided to take them for afternoon tea.
Decided on Metrodeco having bought loose tea from there but not sat down.
Well cannot make any complaint tea wonderful a vast variety to choose from, then the platters came out bottom tier sandwiches if I remember correctly 1 of each selection per person, middle tier scones, 2 each with clotted cream and jam, top tier a selection of cakes.
There were 6 of us and we still managed not to finish all the cakes so a box was taken back to London with my guest to enjoy later.
A very enjoyable and memorable time, at I think £16 per head excellent value.would recommend booking so as not to be disappointed .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, Nederland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go back in time while enjoying great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had carrot cake for lunch, very good loved it. Girls were friendly (staff) and we enjoyed the decoration. We had a toasted sandwich, which was really good. Usually busy so book!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly awful experience !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a booking and an hour before our booking they called to say the current table won't be leaving soon so they might have to cancel. 30 minutes later they call to say we can have our booking. We had booked 3 months in advance. We arrive and we are poured tea, but every time they refil the tea pots they just add water, not new tea leaves!!! So it's getting very watered down by our third pot. We are a party of 14 and we are given 3 types of tea, I would have expected more!. After about 30 minutes we have a party waiting by OUR table for us to leave !!! We are added a compulsory 10% service charge. So it takes a £18 cream to a £20 cream tea. I would not have paid the service charge as the tea was not up to scratch and the service was awful, but had to pay the service charge. The manger really needs some customer service training, she made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. After an hour there and a horrible atmosphere we leave.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompina, Owner at Metrodeco, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
I just wanted to respond to you to clarify some details which seem to have been wrongly described.
First of all we called you to let you know that your table was unfortunately slightly delayed, not cancelled, as the table before you was taking time to leave and we called to let you know. We did this to give you a heads up. We would never cancel a pre booked party. We were doing this to be courteous as we were concerned that you would turn up and your table would not be ready. With our place being quite small we knew you would potentially have to wait outside.

Our manager was also very accommodating to your party when you arrived as a number of people decided to cancel their pre-ordered Afternoon Tea. We would normally still charge the full price at this point but we only charged £5 per person and this was at a loss to us as your food had already been prepared for your arrival.

Our manager was upset with this as she knew it is not our normal policy but remained polite and professional.

Your comments about the service charge are also not correct. Any service charge on any bill is in no way compulsory - and nor was ours. We would never insist this is paid because to do so would be illegal. If you did not want to pay then it then you would have had every right not to. If you want this money returned we will be happy to give it back to you.

With regard to your tea, if this happened then I am sorry. Our staff know to make a fresh pot every time and if you had said something at the time we would have certainly rectified this. We always offer larger parties three teas as standard but again always ask if anyone would prefer others from our menu.
With regard to the couple waiting for you to leave, we actually spoke to them to say they could not, yet, have your table and asked them if they could move. Away. They had not booked a table but wanted to stay until you left. We did ask them if they would wait outside but we could not physically throw them out. We did not ask you to leave so we could seat them.
I am sorry you had feel you had a bad experience but I do think that some of the situations you wrote of have been misinterpreted.
Helen
co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Mo.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This small coffee/teahouse is near the b&b that was my overnight Brighton home. Had a late lunch here upon arrival, and I highly recommend the "brie and bacon" sandwich. It was very nice.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metrodeco also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Metrodeco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metrodeco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.