We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Daughter's Recommendation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metrodeco

Metrodeco
38 Upper St James St, Brighton, England
01273 677243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A lively tea room that also serves wine and beers. We specialise in Afternoon tea and tea cocktails and are dog friendly too. For something a little bit different and for a little treat then come and see us- you won't believe the size of our cakes.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our Daughter's Recommendation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we visited Brighton a couple of months ago we decided to visit Metrodeco as our daughter had recently visited and said how good it was. I ordered a cream tea and my wife had a pot of tea and a slice of cake. The food was extremely tasty and enough for us. The teashop is quite quirky in a lovely way and the service was very good. Our daughter asked us to bring back a bag of doggie treats that the shop stock as her dog loves them, we thought that it was a lovely touch by the owners. Overall it was a lovely experience and we will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    42
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best afternoon teas I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I came here for my birthday celebration and I was so impressed by this little gem! The place is nicely decorated with a vintage feel, the waitresses were very nice and professional, with an attention to details. The brought me the afternoon tea with a candle on the top, which I think it was very sweet. The food was outstanding with a selection of sandwiches and many cakes. The scones were just amazing. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Cake and Great Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This used to be an antique furniture shop but has been transformed into an eccentrically furnished tea shop in ultra trendy Kemptown. The cakes were delicious and the portions large. Altogether a most satisfactory way to spend an hour or so. Will make a point of going back soon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The first place we tried in Brighton being only slightly down the street from our hotel. We were welcomed in and offered our choice of seating. We had a wide range of options and were able to have lunch along with a free afternoon tea (via an offer).
A beautiful cafe with a great atmosphere and excellent food and drink. The only criticism I would have is the service was rather slow, in spite of their being 4 staff members working and only 10 customers. However we were in no hurry and it did not spoil our enjoyment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Sometimes you have to play a long time to be able to play like yourself." – Miles Davis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

LOVE MD tea i have been to Metro Deco 3 times over the years and love it i live in NYC but always make the effort to stop in when i am in Brighton. And it sure 'plays like it self' - evolving from a quirky exceptional deco antiques shop to a mini tea empire - each visit i have seen improvements without the loss of its quirky roots PLUS now being vegan i can enjoy their vegan cakes - delish. especially washed down with one of their tea time cocktails - LOVE MD tea will be taking home their earl Grey tea; 'Shades of Grey' to New York! Oh and Julia and Maggie great chatting with you & thanks for the warm welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metrodeco also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Metrodeco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metrodeco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.