We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - no better than that” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AguaDulce

AguaDulce
10-11 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NE, England
+44 1273 328672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 821 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the Kings Road in Brighton, Bar Aguadulce is a bright and buzzy spot popular with locals and daytrippers from the capital who all love the down-to-earth atmosphere and authentic Spanish menu. Serving everything from tapas to fresh fish and homemade puddings, Bar Aguadulce is a good spot for get-togethers and after-work drinks-and-dinner dates. Inside you'll find a simple dining room with polished wooden floors, cream walls and red and yellow accents, and the restaurant has a homely, chilled vibe. We love the presa Iberian pork pan-fried with garlic and bay leaves and served with potatoes; and the patatas mojopicon - deep-fried potatoes with a cumin, garlic and tomato salsa.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK - no better than that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

In mitigation we arrived as a couple early evening midweek and restaurant was understandably empty. We were warmly welcolmed and service was very good. The food was ok - reasonably expensive for what we got, and the house red was a very Rioja. Very ordinary inside.

We went to restaurant based on previous Tripadvisor ratings, so we were a little disappointed. Really just want to emphasise its probably a great venue for later in the evening when I'm sure its quite atmospheric, but based on value for money, decor and absolute quality of food the experience was so-so.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roquetasdemar, Owner at AguaDulce, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
hi thanks for your review...i dont really know what to say as i can see you just didnt really enjoy it which is fine as we cannot please everyone however i hope you can come back maybe on a thursday when we have live flamenco or at the weekend when we are normally very busy..as for the decor well my wife done it and as you can guess im not gonna argue with that.. my house rioja is a young wine but we always let you taste it so if you didnt enjoy it we would of changed it for you happily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    119
    45
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Spanish - great night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited here with friends for my birthday. As soon as you arrive you are nicely greeted and you can see that the resturant is decorated in a very nice, simple Spanish style.
It was fairly busy when we visited and it is quite noisy - not unbearable at all - you can still hold conversation without having to raise your voice - but this is not a quiet candlelit dinner environment! It feels just like a Spanish tapas restaurant should! Lively and fun!
The menu is good with plenty of choice and some great sounding specials too! Made it very hard to choose. On asking the waiter recommended some particualr good dishes which we went with as well as some of our own choices.
The food arrived - again true to style - as and when it was prepared - a dish here and there which as lovers of this style of eating was great for us!
Every single dish we had be it meat, fish or veg was delicious - fresh tasty and full of flavour including a lot of garlic!!!!!!
We ordered seconds of a couple of dishes which came out promptly too - im sure you can just sit here all night ordering a few dishes every now and then which is what its all about - I certainly wasn't aware of any rush to clear our table.
The service was friendly and food plentiful, delicious and fresh - we had a brilliant night because of this and the ambience of the place.
Would highly recommend for a great evening out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great service would recommend to everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We came out of queens hotel after a lovely massage. It was rain hard and we were starving. To be fair if it was a greasy cafe we would have still gone in. But the food was the best tapas we had ever had, along with great service it was a lovely meal and good value. Would recommend this restaurant to every one. Good home cooked food with delicious dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went here with 4 work colleagues on a boozy night... The food, wine and service were all excellent and the price very reasonable!

We all shared the tapas and it was hard to pick our favourite dishes they were all so good.

I'd highly recommend this restaurant for couples or friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, Authentic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Brilliant, brilliant food. Being Spanish myself and eaten more than enough Spanish dishes in Spain, I'm often disappointed by Spanish food I have in England but this was amazing. Truly authentic, lovely little restaurant.

Suckling pig special was so tasty and a portion too big to finish. Also had the grilled squid and it was the most perfectly cooked squid I've ever had! Couldn't recommend this restaurant any higher. I'll be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AguaDulce also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to AguaDulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AguaDulce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.