We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AguaDulce

AguaDulce
10-11 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NE, England
+44 1273 328672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 833 restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on the Kings Road in Brighton, Bar Aguadulce is a bright and buzzy spot popular with locals and daytrippers from the capital who all love the down-to-earth atmosphere and authentic Spanish menu. Serving everything from tapas to fresh fish and homemade puddings, Bar Aguadulce is a good spot for get-togethers and after-work drinks-and-dinner dates. Inside you'll find a simple dining room with polished wooden floors, cream walls and red and yellow accents, and the restaurant has a homely, chilled vibe. We love the presa Iberian pork pan-fried with garlic and bay leaves and served with potatoes; and the patatas mojopicon - deep-fried potatoes with a cumin, garlic and tomato salsa.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great music and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The tapas was a little underwhelming. That said, the service and the live flamenco music was excellent. The owner also tries his utmost to make sure everyone is enjoying themselves (although for us British this can be a bit too much sometimes).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    454
    84
    40
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Carlos the owner went to great lengths to ensure our party had a wonderful evening . The Tapas selection of 8 dishes was excellent value and kept us eating for 2 hours , accompanied by the house Rioja .Would recommend and will go again soon .NigelC

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing friendly restaurant! Authentic Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked online for a birthday party for 8 adults and 2 children and were greeted into an authentic Spanish tapas restaurant. Our waiter Louis was so friendly and charming and we felt very welcomed instantly. We were given a large table at the back of the restaurant and for a Saturday night (even though it was full downstairs) we felt we could relax as it wasn’t to noisy but not really quiet either so we didn’t feel like we were being too loud even though I think we may have been : ) Especially when we all sang happy birthday in English and the staff sang it in Spanish. We ordered about 3 dishes each and chicken and seafood paella for 2 and we all shared. I can actually say that every dish we had was superb! The shark and black pudding are a must : ) I will definitely be coming back with my husband in tow, maybe sometime in the week as they offer a 3 for 2 on dishes. We choose the restaurant on a recommendation from a friend but cannot believe I didn’t know about it for so long. The best part is the price! we all drank as much Sangria as we could, a couple of bottles of wine and the bill came to £35 each having spent 2 and half hours in. All in all the food, the atmospehere and the staff are amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our second visit to this lovely family run restaurant. We were a group of 2 children and 5 adults, and we all had an excellent meal, all well prepared and cooked. We left it to the staff to give us a selection of Tapas, as we had on our first visit, and were not disappointed.
We went on a very cold and snowy Friday afternoon, however it was all Spanish sunshine and warm family atmosphere inside, the bad weather quickly forgotten.
I would happily recommend to anyone, and the only downside for us is that we live so far, otherwise I know we would be regulars, that said it was well worth the 100 mile round trip and we will definitely be returning for our third visit as soon as we can arrange it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really really nice place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went there for an evening meal and was delighted. The seafood was absolutely amazing. Both tapas and the main courses were delicious. Had the best whole grilled squid. The atmosphere is really nice with light music in the background and spanish staff that make it feel more original. Definetely go there if you are seafood tapas lovers. Will be going there again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AguaDulce also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to AguaDulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AguaDulce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.