We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho

Pho
12 Black Lion Street, Brighton, England
01273 202 403
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 873 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A absolutely great value lunch of two courses for under ten pounds. Substantial portions, superb flavours and really good value. Friendly service and not much wait for food despite being busy.
Would not hesitate to recommend this for excellent Vietnamese style food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    153
    39
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Very cool setting and great service. Food was delicious too; particularly the soups. It cost about £50 for two people which was three courses and an alcoholic drink each. Would recommend giving it a try

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Before the Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Pho, well we were looking for a change, we have never tried Vietnamese food, the restaurant was busy, service was very quick, the food was superb, we ordered a selection from the menu, everything was very tasty and moorish, it was superb value for money and we will return,

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beautiful fresh food. Great service.

2nd time here and the food is great. Just how Asian food should be. Just how Chinese food should be!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese Pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have visited Vietnam several times and loved the Pho so when we came across this restaurant next to the Black Lion pub we decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed the food was extremely authentic, every bit as delicious. The restaurant was packed but didnt distract from the excellent service. Our waitress took time to explain the menu, I had problems reading the small print in the dim light. We chose a truely exceptional meal which now makes us yearn to return to visit Vietnam again. They also sell Beer Lao, absolutely fantastic. They could do with a few large print menus but then I probably need to get my eyes tested. The bibs are a great idea too. This place is recommended to all asian food lovers, we loved it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.