We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key place. High Key taste.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planet India

Planet India
Open 6 to 10pm Tue to Sat and Some Sundays | 4-5 Richmond Parade, Brighton BN2 9PH, England
01273 818 149
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 872 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Low key place. High Key taste.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I decided to go Planet India from a recommendation off a friend. I do like my meat so i was a little apprehensive. I shouldn't have been.The food was excellent and possibly some of the best Indian food i have tasted since being in India. It was packed with flavor and spice and i didn't miss meat. I cannot remember what the starter was called put it was recommended to me by my friends. It even says on their menu 'if you have been recommended the starter this is the one' so you'll know which one i mean if you go. Try it, it is brilliant!!

The service was good and quick but not very personal. The place, as a restaurant is extremely low key. So do not expect a lovely restaurant setting. But the food makes up for all its negatives. Brilliant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    31
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you like food heated up by a microwave...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Strange place. No problem with the food. Average service. Average location.

The main issue is hearing the microwave 'bings' as your meal is ready. Quite surprising a restaurant doesn't actually cook its meals from scratch for each customer.

Be warned.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“barefoot veggie indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Friendly, barefoot service in this veggie indian restaurant. If you want fast service and delicious food in an unpretentious atmosphere this is the place for you. It is very Brighton. You can get two half portions or one full portion with rice. Portions are large so i usually get a doggy bag. Booking recommended and not open on mondays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegetarian Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Best Indian vege food outside India, Service with a huge smile and knowledge of the food and beers! A real Brighton treat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The dhal bhel puri starter really gets the taste buds going and the portion size was good.
This is a vegetarian restaurant and I would say that there is nothing on the menu that I would not be happy to have again. The main course was so filling that there was no room for dessert.
Even the house wine was great value.

Our bill was £70 for four people including the wine and service charge!!! I left stuffed and happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet India also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Planet India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.