We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go as soon as you can!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planet India

Planet India
Open 6 to 10pm Tue to Sat and Some Sundays | 4-5 Richmond Parade, Brighton BN2 9PH, England
01273 818 149
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 871 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go as soon as you can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I read the reviews, it sounded good - and it delivered everything it promised! The restaurant isn't fancy inside, just really warm and welcoming. The menu is very amusing, the staff are really friendly and the main reason you go is because the food is absolutely delicious.

We had the puri starter that everyone raves about - and I would go back there for that alone.

A great little restaurant, just go and try it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    31
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The foodfulness is terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great food, good choice, inexpensive, all the dishes tasted different (often not the case with Indian), vegetarian and vegan restaurant. Will certainly go again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AS GOOD AS PROMISED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I had my 62nd birthday meal here, courtesy of my son, a Brighton chef. His girlfriend made up the party, and their previous visits helped guide us through the menu.A very friendly welcome and excellent service complemented superb vegetarian dishes. Sharing the food was the order of the day, and as Borderers, we were delighted to find a full range of Williams Brothers great beers from Alloa, nicely chilled. As good an evening of Indian food as we've ever had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overcrowded - it's so good! Vegetarian.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

No room so we ordered takeaway which was quickly delivered. I suspect we'd have had to wait much longer in the restaurant. The food was excellent - Bhel Puri not to be missed. Small menu but well selected. Vegetarian. A winner!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had tried to get into this place lots of times but it was always fully booked. This time a friend managed to get a table.

You get a very warm welcome when you arrive. The place is casual and basic, giving it a very authentic feel. Personally I feel more comfortable in this sort of environment rather than formal dining.

The menu is brilliant - very frank descriptions of the food and the drinks.

The food is freshly cooked and delicious - we opted for the half portions because that way you get to sample more of the dishes. The portions are generous and everything is served with a smile.

It's a very lively place and as soon as one table left there were people queuing up for the next free table - testament to how good this place is.

We were not hurried in any way - we really took our time to enjoy the experience. The bill was incredibly reasonable.

I cannot recommend this quirky and excellent restaurant enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet India also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Planet India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.