We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Afternoon in an Authentic Spanish Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Ole Tapas Bar & Restaurant

Ole Ole Tapas Bar & Restaurant
42 Meeting House Lane | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
01273 739 939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 873 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $16 - $57
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ole Ole Tapas Bar & Restaurant is a lively spot complete with Flamenco dancers, live bands and delicious Spanish cuisine.Relish in the finest Sangria, tapas and true Spanish ambiance, featuring an authentic floor show of Flamenco music and dance. Travel to Spain with Ole Ole and join us for an "Evening in Andalusia". Ole Ole is all about honest food of the earth, natural and real.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lazy Afternoon in an Authentic Spanish Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent 3 hours sitting in Ole Ole's on Sunday! We had coffee and Churros then as time went by had tapas and some wine.

There was a whole Spanish family sitting around a table eating together which made the atmosphere really warming in there. Having lived in Spain previously for many years, this felt like we were back there and we didn't even notice the time go by!

Food and wine was authentic and was really tasty at a reasonable cost and the staff were really friendly and attentive- I would recommend coming here for a real Spanish experience. We are booked to come in for the dancing on Friday- we hope this experience will be as good as the last!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    97
    37
    16
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best tapas in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After numerous visits to Ole Ole I have finally gotten around to writing a review. The food is excellent - the deep fried brie and stuffed roasted peppers are particular favourites but everything is delicious! The Sangria is also rather tasty. Staff are very friendly and the atmosphere, especially on evenings with the live flamenco is brilliant. We have taken many friends and family there and will continue to recommend to others in future!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

After finding out La Tasca had closed looked this up and from the reviews seemed rather good. Well I must be the only one who knows what a true tapas is! Even chain restaurant la Tasca offers better value for money and even more choice. The environment made it feel very authentic, however the food could not be more contrast. Very bland, average, and nothing you couldn't find elsewhere. Other reviews mentioned a varied menu, I didn't think there was much choice. Had faith in the portion sizes being generous, once more disappointed. Will not be returning and extremely shocked to say I have had better food at chain Tapas bars. Don't believe the hype.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were looking for a quick tapas meal on a Friday afternoon and stumbled across Ole Ole. The service and food were excellent, all the waiters were Spanish and the restaurant had a very authentic vibe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went for a friends birthday, and loved it so much went back with a large group for mine. Food is amazing, atmosphere brilliant. Can be a bit of a language barrier with staff and it's so small it's very close with a lot of people but that doesn't ruin the night. The live music is fantastic, and booking they've always called to confirm. I'm off here again this weekend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Ole Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Ole Ole Tapas Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole Ole Tapas Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.