We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its title !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fishy Fishy

Fishy Fishy
36 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HL, England
01273 723750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 875 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $0 - $56
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fishy Fishy Seafood Brasserie, a relaxed, informal, predominantly seafood led dining experience in Brighton promoting fresh, local and seasonal seafood. With its focus on all day dining encouraging, a relaxed atmosphere and its simple décor including a large outside dining area.
Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lives up to its title !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Sits in a nice square with a glass cube infront of the restaurant. When they tell you that the gurnard is finished that is a good sign!
I had the fish soup, packed with 4 large mussels and range of white fish, with nice accomplishments. Lemon sole was excellent, with peas and new season asparagus. Reasonable wine selection, with 175 and 250 ml glasses as well as bottles.
Overall, very good fish restaurant, goos service and excellent cooking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    166
    63
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located in a lovely little bustling square in Brighton, set back from the promenade.
The restaurant was fairly busy downstairs and quieter upstairs were we were...that was fine though... Service was excellent and the food very good.
I had oysters and cockle Vongole; the oysters were good but the Vongole was superb. My friends had fish & chips which they wolfed down... The batter on the fish was really light.
We had a very enjoyable long lunch and would certainly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had been to this restaurant today and the food was awful. The waitress forgot to bring the bread we ordered as starter,the fish soup was watery and frozen fish. The main dish - pollock was not at all tasty and the waitress even forgot the sauce which we had to ask for. The paella was not at all good and again frozen fish used. Overall we wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant - Happily recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

In Brighton for a few days as part of our 30th anniversary celebrations and were looking for somewhere to eat on our first night. We had a wander round the Lanes area and in East Street and saw Fishy Fishy. Great staff who really helped us (well me, as I wasn't a great lover of fish - until now) and explained what the dishes were, things about the sourcing of the dishes and why each dish was on at different times of the year etc. I had a really beautiful whole fish, a Gurnard, (ugly as sin and looks like a monster from the old Sting Ray puppet series - Google it and you will see what I mean!) but it was really wonderful and had the delicate flavour of a stronger version of plaice or sole. My wife had the modestly spiced Sri Lankan fish curry with lots of cardamom and coconut milk. Lovely staff and food. Heartily recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

What can one say about Fish 'n Chips..............?

Other than it's the best F & C I have ever had in my 61 years!

Just GO!

But have the Fish & Chips. They do a lot of other stuff too

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishy Fishy also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Fishy Fishy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishy Fishy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.