We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Steine Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Steine Restaurant
New Steine Hotel | 10 - 11 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
01273695415
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
New Steine Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #357 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chester, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So so!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a living social voucher which was excellent value for money. The white wine included was really nice, and the food was very fresh and of a good quality. It just perhaps lacks the subtle touches which make people want to return eg. soup was excellent but it would have been so much better in a warm/hot bowl with even the smallest piece of bread, Garnishing, making dishes look appealing etc. Service was fine, just again, lacking a genuine interest in how we found our experience. The food is good, steak cooked really well and fish was delicious. i think they just need to work on making people really feel they care about their customers experience, even if they do have a discounted voucher, because after all that's surely what these promotions are about, drumming up more potential future diners? I don't think we'll be back but I wouldn't warn people against this place, especially if you want to try some nice French dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    12
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice meals using local produce. Main course came only with potatoes. A bowl of veg would have improved it. Overall not the best meal we had in Brighton but of a good standard.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gordon Ramsay would have a field day!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a Living Social deal voucher when we went for a meal, but even at the cheaper price it was disappointing. I think they would have to pay me to go back again.

The building is a B&B as well as a 'restaurant', so you have to be let in the front door, or maybe it's locked to keep the customers in?? The restaurant only has 7 tables. If you get one near the front then the atmosphere is a little more restaurant like, but at the back of the room it's obvious you are in a B&B, and get caught up in the hustle and bustle of residents.

There were 2 staff front of house, both of whom were inappropriately dressed for waiting staff, and one of whom I can only describe as 'odd'. It appeared that the usual waitress had gone sick at short notice, and they had dragged any old random person in off the street, the only requirement being that they had poor dress sense, no table waiting experience, poor communication skills, and a distinct lack of confidence. Our waitress ticked all of these boxes.

Our deal included a glass of wine each. To be fair, the white wine wasn't bad at all (probably the best part of the experience), but the glass was very small. We finished then quickly and ordered a large glass each. 5 minutes after ordering, our waitress returned to ask if we wanted 2 large glasses of white wine, as if we may have changed our minds. Maybe they aren't used to people sticking around that long.

We ordered our food (crab rillette and pigeon pate to start), both of which came with toast. Prior to the starters arriving, we could smell toast burning in the kitchen. This wouldn't have been a problem, except for the fact that the very same toast then turned up on our plates. This was a schoolboy error and one which no restaurant should ever allow to happen. The pigeon pate just tasted like, well, pate. The crab rillette was nice but spoiled by the charred toast.

For main course I had the sirloin steak with chips, and my partner had pork tenderloin with mashed potato. Whilst waiting for ours to arrive, the table behind me were complaining that they had ordered the Porterhouse steak but were served sirloin, and also that their chips were burned. I waited with baited breath to see what I would get. The steak was cooked nicely but was only served with chips. Whilst they weren't burned, they weren't the best either. Sadly that was all I got on the plate. It wouldn't have cost much more to add a little rocket or some fried onions or mushrooms to the plate, and it would have benefitted from it greatly. Their omission made the meal rather bland. I was however offered some french mustard which I was pleased about, however, just to add to the Fawlty Towers experience, it arrived in a teacup! Ramekins are so over-rated it would seem.

My partner was looking forward to her pork tenderloin, but sadly it arrived considerably burned, and was dry throughout. Another portion which no self-respecting chef should ever even consider plating up. The mash was not particularly creamy, and poorly seasoned. A complaint was made but nothing offered as recompense.

There were desserts on offer, but by this time we'd had enough and decided to make a hasty retreat, opting for a chocolate muffin from Sainsburys Local on the way home instead.

Needless to say we didn't leave a tip and won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nearly but not quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First visit to this little bistro in the heart of Kemptown. The decor is very ordinary and the lighting needs further thought as its rather harsh. Candles on tables perhaps? We were on a Living Social deal which offered excellent value but the food fell below expectations. Escargot timbale was nicely presented with the snails served in a puff pastry case but the sauce was incredibly rich and the flavour didn't match the presentation. Tenderloin of pork with honey glaze looked promising and was generous in size but was unexpectedly dry and served with an insipid ratatouille. The service was friendly and willing rather than efficient but generally fine.
Had it not have been for the excellent deal we were on the overall impression was distinctly average. This potentially promising little bistro will need to improve if it's going to survive at regular prices in Brighton's highly competitive restaurant market.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a voucher to this restaurant but the staff were still friendly and attentive.
The menu and the specials had good options. The food was very nice and the service was friendly and polite.

We had great time and the restaurant was busy for a Tuesday evening.

I would come again. I suggest anyone visiting this restaurant to either come by bus or taxi as there are no parking spaces available (that is not the restaurant's fault, but due to busy square)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Steine Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to New Steine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Steine Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.