We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the friendliest pub in Brighton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barley Mow

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Barley Mow
92 St Georges Road, Brighton BN2 1EE, England
+44 1273 682259
Improve this listing
Ranked #489 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Restaurant details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Probably the friendliest pub in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Have visited the pub on many occasions when in Brighton, mostly to meet up with a friend. This pub welcomes everyone no matter what your lives persuasions. Even our dogs are welcome as well. The pub offers a good chic of real ales and wines along with the other beverages that you would expect. The food is typical pub grub and the specialise in building your own burgers. Chili is another house specie. There is a day to day menu of the staples and a black board with the specials on it. Sadly my choice of the chicken breast was not available but 2 of us had the baked cod with rice and salad. Well cooked fish not dry and tasty. Husband had the chicken and tarragon pie, mash etc. Very good also. A quirky pub with it's selection of board games for you to play with, sweets on sale behind the bar if the children come with you. A rear garden at the back with heaters for those who want to kill themselves smoking!!!! Pub is not good if you are a wheelchair user as it has no disabled toilets and the access to them is down a step and they are very small. That aside a visit must be considered as you will be made welcome and you will have a good plate of pub food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and excellent beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Came across this pub by chance as we were visiting a music venue nearby. Beer was absolutely perfect and the range was very broad and unusual.

The food, however, was absolutely first class - not what we were expecting to be honest. It has to be an 11 out of 10 for this little pub

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A super meal, with a few drinks - great way to wind down after work!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I met with my work colleague at The Barley Mow, in order to have a meal and a few drinks after work on Friday 29th November 2013.

I chose the nachos as a starter, which we shared as there was a substantial portion of food.

We then chose to eat the 'chicken breast stuffed with brie and wrapped in bacon' from the specials board - and thoroughly enjoyed it!

I tried the paddle, with three third-pints of the dark ales on offer, and found it a super way to enjoy a variety of ales without consuming too much ...

A most enjoyable start to the evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Of the zillions of pubs you can have a beer in when in Brighton, this is as good as most of them.
A good selection of beers, a wacky range of children's sweets (for some reason) and a varied food menu. Spacious and dog friendly, go in, sit down, and chill for an hour or two - it's that type of place. The food, unfortunately, promises a bit more than it delivers and the cook, whilst very friendly, prepares the food as a good cook might - not a chef - there is more than a subtle difference. I would go again and would not put you off from popping in there to form your own view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best pub in Brighton !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fab food, fab atmosphere , fab beer ! The barley mow is an example of the best in a local pub that welcomes visitors like old friends as well

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barley Mow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.