We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose

The Melrose
132 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2HH, England
+44 1273 326520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 875 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fresh fish and seafood restaurant. Seafront location. Scottish Steaks also available.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fish and chips by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We had fish and chips which were beautifully done, the fish batter was light and crisp with no sign of fish skin. Good, friendly service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    57
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Its more a sea food restaurant as you cant get traditional battered sausage or savaloy. However we didnt want these so were happy with cod and chips it was very nice although I did think it was a bit much we had to pay for mush peas think it was £2 and u didn get alot. As I say food was yummy id defo eat here again not greasy and was fresh. The staff were really nice although she forgot o e drink and didn ask if we wanted any more. Other than that couldn't failt them.

this is not really suitable for people who have difficulty with stairs as there down a step flight of stairs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“30 years on - and still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were first taken to the Melrose 30 years ago, ate some of the freshest, best cooked fish ever and became regulars until we moved away from Brighton. We were back there yesterday, right on the seafront overlooking the remains of the West Pier, in brilliant sunshine.
Now living 75 miles away we almost always eat there when we are back in the area visiting family and friends. Why wouldn't we? It's still in the same hands - and the food, prices and service are as good as ever. (My grilled plaice was cooked to perfection - and the oysters the other three ate before their generous portions of fish and chips were apparently particularly good). I think happydays256 just can't have been having a happy day at all...but whether that was the fault of the Melrose.... !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Best In Town ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have been here many times in the past and decided that we would go out for lunch and we chose Melrose.
I had a starter which was lovely followed by lobster Thermidor.
This was out of this world full of meat & cheese cooked to perfection.
This was served with a choice of side orders.
The service is outstanding always friendly and chattie it's always a pleasure to return.
The best in town by far large portions and great food with excellent service .

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
“Disinterested service & poor food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I experienced poor food and poor service - to summarize; tough & chewy calamari and to follow a hair in my wife's haddock and chips - also a request for additional chips to complement the half portion on my plate went unfulfilled. Throughout our meal we got the impression that the staff didnt really care about our experience and that quick turnaround of tables was the name of their game. Obviously we had the 10% service charge removed. Incidentally the oil used to fry the haddock was old and, subsequently the flavour of the batter and fish was tainted as a result.

Overall a fairly unpleasant experience which we will not be repeating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melrose also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Melrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.