We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for fish lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose

The Melrose
132 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2HH, England
+44 1273 326520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 833 restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fresh fish and seafood restaurant. Seafront location. Scottish Steaks also available.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant for fish lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We are staying close by and tried this out on our first night. I had mussels to start with and the portion was very generous and they were really tasty and could tell they were fresh. I then had a whole plaice and potatoes (yes I was hungry!) which was also delicious. The fish was grilled and was really flaky and flavoursome. My Mum didn't have a starter but she had fish and chips for her main which she really enjoyed, the batter was nice and crispy. The service was relaxed and friendly and the food came quickly even though it was busy. It is situated on the sea front which is nice so you can look out whilst you eat.
Good value for money too and popular with all age groups. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    111
    41
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited after a long hot busy day all brighton venues were busy they found us a table you could tell staff had had a hard day but they made you welcome and we could not fault our meals and service

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My choice in Brighton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Everytime I go to brighton I visit melrose. They have a quick and affordable service. I also thoroughly enjoy their food. This time I ordered the seafood platter mix. It consisted of a selection of their seafood fried. They also have a grill version which is slightly more expensive.

The owners are cypriot and have added some of this greek-cypriot style to their menu. They offer greek salad, taramosalata, KEO beer, moussaka. Try the Keo beer. You wont be disappointed.

I will go back to the melrose next time I am in Brighton for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have been going to Melrose for 25 years - and why - because it has the best fish and chips in Brighton!
The cod and chips is what we have every time, the fish soft and the batter crisp alongside a bottle of Retsina. My mouth waters just thinking about it.
The service is friendly and efficient and the whole place down to earth and definitely worth a visit.
Enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The menu and wine list are extensive and my wife asked for a blue fillet steak and it came beautifully cooked - hot but very rare. I had a medley of five fishes which was well cooked and presented. A reasonable wine list and we had a first class meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melrose also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Melrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.