We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendly Genevieve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempfield House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kempfield House
18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
isle of wight
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The friendly Genevieve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed in the Genevieve Hotel for a long weekend, to celebrate my husband's 50th Birthday. The Hotel had a very friendly atmosphere and any questions we had were soon answered. The Hotel is a stone's throw from the pier and it was easy to reach the town and the beach, whichever we decided to do for the day. For families too, the Sea Life centre is only a 5 minute walk away. The full english breakfast set us up for the day and I would certainly recommend this warm, friendly Hotel.

Stayed June 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    70
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
11
123
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. We had a great time and really enjoyed the hotel. The room (Nr.1) was spacious, the 4-poster bed was gorgeous and David and Lyn were really friendly. Breakfast was very tasty and the hotel is well located for the town centre and pubs, without being noisy. The only small improvement would be to install a power-shower!

  • Liked — The owners!
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

HI have just came back from our weekend stay in the Genevieve Hotel. Had a great time. The rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfasts were fab!! Too much to eat!!!! The hotel was in a great location in Brighton close to shops, bars etc.
David and Lyn looked after us really well and they did a magnificent job of taking care of us all and helped us out if we needed advice or information.
Thanks David and Lyn. We look forward to staying with and seeing you both again.
Would recommend this small hotel with a great personal service.

Debs & Paul

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Stayed at Genevieve for last minute night out and found it to be excellent. We stayed in the 'superior' room (No.2) which was 5star for the price (£95). Room was very, very clean and had a massive king size bed. En suite was a good size with a decent shower for a change. Very quiet considering it was ground floor at front of property. Breakfast was superb and very genrous portions using quality ingredients (Heinz beans, Anchor butter etc) - The small things do go a long way! All in all an excellent B&B run by friendly and polite people. Will definitely make this our first choice when we visit Brighton again.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, Value for money, Friendliness.
  • Disliked — Coming home/Leaving!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Probably one of the best hotels in Brighton (great value for money)

Stayed May 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

The Genevieve Hotel is possibly not a "Hotel" if you're used to a Reception area, a bar and a lounge 'cos there ain't any; and so, by definition, is probably more of a Guest House. But don't let that put
you off if Guest Houses aren't your thing. It's non-smoking (ok, so it.s not for you if you smoke) and exceptionally clean throughout. It's very comfortable and all of a very high standard. We were in Room 9 which is at the back of the hotel and though without a "nice" view, you are guaranteed peace and quiet which is what we wanted. The bed is huge and comfortable (though if we nit pick, more plush pillows would have made "excellent" into "luxurious"). The facility of WiFi was faultless and very easy to use - if we can use it - anyone can!!! Breakfast was spot on, we're early (ish) risers so the issue of being too late for breakfast never arose. If you state your personal cooking preferences, chef is more than happy to oblige. The proprieters were lovely. Very friendly and very helpful. Our room was 3 flights up and our ample bags and baggages were all taken to our room for us, which after a long journey was very welcoming and much appreciated, as was the choc bar provided on the refreshments tray! The hotel is ideally situated for just about everything. 5 minutes walking to the sea front and pier, 10 minutes to the city centre and 2 minutes to Kemptown - the location populated by the gay community. As a gay couple we felt totally accepted and welcomed. There are a wide variety of clubs, bars and pubs in Kemptown to suit every taste. The only pain in the butt was the parking (the place needs a Park and Ride) but again, Dave - the proprieter made sure we didn't make any expensive errors. Thanks Dave and Lynne for a great Easter break - brace yourselves - we'll definitely be back! Jude and Ruth - the Cheshire Birds.

  • Liked — The Bed!
  • Disliked — The Pillows! or lack of!!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

We have just returned from a magnificent Easter break at the Genevieve Hotel in Brighton. Our room was gorgeous - bright and sunny and the huge bed was exceptionally comfortable. We also loved the kingsize shower. The people who ran the hotel were totally charming and very helpful. We would totally recommend a visit to the hotel.

As a gay couple we felt totally accepted there and were very welcomed. The hotel was ideally situated for all the clubs, shops, bars and restaurants we wanted to visit.

Stayed April 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempfield House

Address: 18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality grade II listed, RAC 4 Diamond regency hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere located in the fashionable area of Kemptown, close to all main attractions and the city centre. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and we have luxury four poster and super kingsize balcony rooms available for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kempfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempfield House Hotel Brighton
Kempfield Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.