We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West St, Brighton BN1 2RQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night. The room was small, not enough room to pass by each other at the end of the bed. No toiletries in the bathroom other than hand soap. Water pressure low in shower. Very very noisy neighbours. A group of women who chatted and screamed into the wee small hours. However room was clean and bed comfy. At £54 per night I guess it was reasonable value but not sure I would stay again

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are pleased to learn you found your room was clean and comfortable Tracy H. As standard we do not provide toiletries in our rooms, however we do provide the option for our guests to purchase any extra toiletries in the vending machine at reception should they need to. We do ask our customers to ensure that they respect their noise levels throughout the hotel so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by other guests, we would also require our staff to regularly patrol the hotel so that they can be aware of any disturbances. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they can look into the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    136
    103
    69
    62
See reviews for
59
186
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is well located and everything is easy to get to locally. The rooms were clean and serviceable, nothing fancy and about what you would expect for the price. We weren't prepared for the noise of other guests at all hours of the night, this hotel is popular with those visiting clubs etc in Brighton and there were a few large groups of guests who were inconsiderate in the small hours. That said, the hotel's security were quick to deal with one particularly noisy group. The cooked breakfast was good and service friendly. We had a couple of drinks in the bar on the Friday night after we'd returned from our night out which was a nice way to round off the evening. I'm not sure I'd stay again because of the noise levels but it suited us fine for the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, not facing the nightclub opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location right in the heart of Brighton, close to shops and right near the sea front. Having read the previous reviews, I was aware of the noise from the clubs so had the earplugs at the ready! However I wasn't prepared for the inconsiderate guests at the hotel where families had been put on either side of my room so children were shouting and running up and down the corridor at all hours!
For a budget hotel the room was ok but it was a little small for two of us with all our luggage. It did say that the rooms had recently been modernised but apart from a lick of paint, not much else had been done.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are really sorry to learn that you did not get a good night’s sleep with us Zoe891. At all our hotels we request that all customers respect reasonable noise levels with consideration to our other guests. We will also have a night porter patrolling the hotel at night to ensure the safety of others and in order to prevent any disruptions to your stay. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the concerns you have raised regarding this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We werent made aware that the parking was not near the hotel and was very costly. The bed was very uncomfortable and the breakfast was very poor. The room wasnt big enough for a wheelchair but to be fair we didnt ask for a disabled room.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review Jeanette S. We hope all our guests enjoy a comfortable stay with us, therefore we are sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the bed and the food provided. We are happy to confirm, however, we’ve recently freshened up the whole hotel with a full makeover and put a brand new ‘Travelodge Dreamer’ pocket sprung kingsize bed in every room. We are aware that all our customers may have different preferences with regards to the firmness of the mattress. The food we offer in our bar cafes is standardised across all our hotels and our staff are trained in how to prepare and present it so it is regrettable to learn that the food did not meet with your expectations. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The offer of £37 a night for a double room was too tempting to turn down even during the stormy weather of February 2014 so I booked 2 nights. Once booked I rang the hotel direct to ask if I could have a sea view room & that is exactly what they gave me. My work commitments changed & so I had to change the date of my stay, although I couldn't do this online it was very easy over the phone & again asked for my sea view room to which they obliged. Annoyingly again my work commitments changed & so for the second time I had to change the date & this was all done over the phone, easily, friendly & I kept the sea view room.

The room was slightly smaller than I was used to having stayed in dozens of Travelodges as a touring musician but it was still big enough & smelt fresh & clean when we walked in.
Now; the best thing about this room & the best thing about this hotel is the bed & sheets. The beds are insanely comfortable, so much so they are available to buy from the Travelodge website and the sheets are as soft as silk. This was not what I was expecting from a Travelodge & I didnt want to get out of bed as a result.
The shower was good & the temperature constant, the room heating worked well on a cold couple of days. The TV package was basic, about 11 channels but worked fine. You are also offered a food menu in the room which can be delivered to your room if you order from the downstairs bar, it's a really good & varied menu for the fussiest of eaters & not too overpriced.

Now the main negative which is something Travelodge need to sort is the entry card. It simply doesn't work if you put it in your wallet or near your phone, each time we came back to the 8th floor our key card wouldn't let us in, so down to reception we went to have it fixed where the receptionist explained you cant put the card near a phone or any other credit or debit cards, which is very annoying as it's the shape and size of a credit card.
The only other small negatives were the low water pressure on the taps so takes a while to wash the soap off your hands & the loud family that happened to be in the room next to us but these are obviously minor.
We had a great time, it's right on the seafront, right in the heart of the action with pubs, clubs, cinemas & venues all around & for £37 a night & the most comfortable bed in the world with a sea view who can complain!?

Room Tip: Our room was 814, I think there are rooms with a slightly better view but it was a small window with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, on the first morning we went out to discover Brighton, on our return to the hotel we noticed our room had not cleaned towels not replaced, bed not made rubbish bins not empty, and bathroom not cleaned, the room smelled of damp, which we later found out that the fan in the bathroom was not working (we think the fan has not been working for some time as there was a lot of mould in the bathroom) the second day was the same staff only replaced the towels, (third day) we got back to our room to find nothing had been done in our room again, we went to complain to management and he promised someone will be up tonight to do the room, surprise surprise no one came. although staff were friendly it seemed our complaints fell on deaf ears.

Room Tip: you got to go to the top floor to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are sorry to learn of the poor experience you had at our Brighton Seafront hotel keithoreilly. Our housekeeping team and expected to fully service your room and replenish all essentials during your stay so it is regrettable to learn of the lapse in service. Our extractor fans are also expected to be fully operations so we will be sure to pass this onto the hotel in order to make repairs. We would also like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

From the outside the Travelodge seems a bit murky but once inside it is clean and there is a friendly atmosphere. The customer service was excellent. Staff were few but extremely kind and helpful. I would advise the breakfast. Simple but excellent quality and good value for money especially if you have a child who eats for free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: West St, Brighton BN1 2RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.