We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a quiet night!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West St, Brighton BN1 2RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely not a quiet night!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We somewhat naively booked this hotel thinking it would be great to be by the seafront. Unfortunately the noise from the various bars and clubs nearby kept us awake as did internal doors banging in the hotel. The hotel could definitely do with a refurb - the bathroom in our room, in particular, was horrible. Definitely worth paying a bit more for some peace and quiet!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    166
    130
    82
    73
See reviews for
75
238
49
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benamocarra
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great hotel if you have booked in advance and paid the saver rates. You get what you pay for - clean and basic. Firstly I booked later so not worth what I paid for it but as someone that has stayed here several times and complained about the paid for (not the free) but 10 pounds for 24 hours very expensive wifi several times, I am disappointed that it is still dismal higher up in the hotel and at the end of the corridor. In the past I have changed rooms. This time I arrived at 2am and so really did not have the energy and for this price should not have to. Will they ever sort this out? If wifi in the room is important to you make sure you get a room on a low floor nearer to the lift.

Room Tip: As stated above for wifi in the room you need a low floor near the lift and you will still pay for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a two night stay booked through Laterooms, for £200. First the sea front is literally a two minute walk from the front door infact a two minute walk in any direction will get to pubs, clubs, restaurants, chippys, clothes shops, Boots the chemist and any number of independent clothing stores. This really is well placed for just about anything you'd want to do. Secondly on street car parking is non-existent so the multistoreys have a monopoly. But Travelodge have a deal with the NCP at the end of the road so instead of £50 for two nights you get it at a discounted rate of £37. Ask for a room with a sea view or as high up as you can floor 8 being the highest because this will reduce the amount of pedestrian noise you will hear and boy will you know about it. This place is Jekell & Hyde, all happy families during the day and mad hen / stag dos at night. The sea front is lined with clubs at night and can be a chilled out place, it just depends on the clientele. Friday night we took a stroll out at 10:30pm and is was very relaxed but our later stroll on Saturday at 01:30 in the morning was a different affair. The tone of the clubbers was much more menacing we definitely couldn't wait to get back to our room. Travelodge even have bouncers on the main door to deter any would be party crashers.
The room was standard Travelodge fare clean, small with very few 'extras' like hair dryer or iron. The room was very stuffy because of the window restricters and there is no air con. The lift worked and smelt clean. The breakfast is an all you can eat affair for £8 per head. It consisted of cereal, crossiant, fruit, yoghurt, bacon, sausgae, scrambled egg, beans and tomatoes and plenty of it with as much toast as you can put away however the quality of the meat stuffs was only average. There is an all day bar but don't know how the prices compare.
All in all a good base if your exploring Brighton & Hove but not really somewhere to spend lots of time in but that could said about most Travelodges! Staff were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on floor 8. Use NCP and get a £13 discount for two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed for just one night in august/2013 and was quite satisfied. Wanted a cheap place to stay, close to Brighton's centre and clock tower. The room was comfortable and clean. The only thing is that there's no air conditioning, so, during summer (which was my case), it can get quite hot and stuffy and also very noise. There are lots of pubs and clubs in the surroundings, but the noise can be efficiently blocked by the double-glazed windows, except when you open them to refresh the room. Apart from that, it's a simple, no frills, cheap and well located stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawsley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here over the August bank holiday. In reception, there were signs up promoting the refurbished rooms so I was hopeful the room would be smart, but I was really disappointed. The room was hot and cramped, although the bed was comfortable. The bathroom could definitely do with an update. It has the kind of floor which never looks clean! On the positive side, it's in a great location just off the seafront and very close to the town centre. The reception staff were very helpful too, but I would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here last week for a cheap 2 day getaway with friends. Having lived in Brighton I would usually choose somewhere a bit more classy and support an independent but this was keeping to a budget.

As with all Travelodge's, you know what you are getting. A relatively decent sized room with a large bed, clean linen and that's about it. I was in room 502 and my friends in 501. The room served it's purpose and provided a clean and safe place to sleep but I was woken by arguing, chatting and shouting from outside the nightclub which neighbours the hotel. Once I shut the room window it was ok and I was able to get back to sleep, but if you are a light sleeper I would request to be away from the end of the hotel near the club.

Room Tip: Avoid the night club end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

hot hot hot - rooms boiling - no air due to window restrictions and super noisy due to being surrounded by night clubs - would only stay here again in winter - rooms basic and clean but you dont get a good nights sleep due to heat and noise



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear chrish76, we are sorry to learn that you were unable to get a good nights sleep due to the temperature in your room and external noise. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in all of our hotels; however we do have a number of fans available from reception in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable. We are also sorry to learn you found the hotel to be noisy. Unfortunately due to the central location of the hotel, we cannot always prevent external noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: West St, Brighton BN1 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.