We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for what it is.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artist Residence Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Artist Residence Brighton to your Saves list
Artist Residence Brighton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary breakfast
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pricey for what it is.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for Brighton Half Marathon. Room was exceptionally clean but small overlooking the back of the hotel.
The shower offered cold water on our last morning of being there and breakfast was fed to us free of charge due to this, although I would not have paid £7.50 for the small amount of breakfast received.
Hotel is situated in a great location and no noise was heard from outside or other guests.
Staff are friendly and approachable.
Nice quirky B&B in a very old listed building but definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear FayeEllis,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Artist Residence Brighton and appreciated the great location of the hotel. Unfortunately, as we are in an old building and maintenance issues do still occur from time to time, which we try to resolve as quickly as possible. We always use the highest quality ingredients in our breakfast, and try to give our guests the best value for money possible.

We do hope you would consider staying with us again when you next return to Brighton

Best Regards,
Lucy and the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    208
    22
    14
    18
See reviews for
74
354
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our daughters bought us a night away at The Artist's Residence to rekindle our student days in Brighton (in fact I used to share a flat literally a stone's throw away). Great setting, a characterful (if small) room with wall art, and a good view down the square to the remains of the old West Pier. There is a lift, though it's tiny and shuts down overnight (to avoid latecomers getting stuck in it). And the staff were extremely friendly. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: For anyone with mobility problems, try to avoid rooms on the top (fourth) floor. It's a long wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear DownhillOnly,

We are so delighted you had a great stay at Artist Residence and hope Brighton was just as you remembered it in your student days! We're really glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful view and individually designed artist room!

We hope to welcome you back to Artist Residence very soon

Kind Regards,
Lucy and the Artist Residence Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatwick
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is situated at the back of a lovely Regency Square, looking directly over the old pier. The hotel itself is an old building for sure; we were on the 3rd floor (no lift) and overlooked the pier and square - I assume this is why it's called the 'Panoramic Room', as there is only 1 window! However the room is well appointed, with a corner bath in bathroom, tea and coffee facilities, TV etc.
Breakfast was included (not worth £7.50!) and was unlimited cereal, juice, tea and coffee, and a cooked portion (or yoghurt with granola and berries) The breakfast room had a leak dripping through the ceiling.
All in all a nice hotel - artwork on the walls from varied artists - and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear captainmummy,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Artist Residence, and appreciated our Panorama Room with its beautiful panoramic mural of the Brighton seafront!
As you noted we are an early 19th century Regency building, and maintenance problems do still occur from time to time. We are so pleased to hear that this did not stop you enjoying your stay with us! In addition, our breakfast is locally sourced, using only the finest ingredients. We aim to always give our guests the best value for money possible.

We do hope to see you again in Brighton (or Cornwall!)

Kind Regards,
Lucy and the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for our birthdays and thoroughly enjoyed it! We had a sea view room, which was a small double decorated with a fab mural. The staff where really friendly and helpful, we also bought a painting in gallery and got to meet the artist. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear MaxxieSparkle79,

We are so pleased you loved your stay with us at Artist Residence and especially appreciated the amazing sea view!

We really hope to see you again in the future, and hope you enjoy the painting!

Kind Regards,

Lucy and the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked the Mel Sheppard room for a weekend stay in Brighton, knowing the area well I'd never heard of this particular B&B before but thought it was worth a try as it looked quite funky and unique and I certainly wasn't disappointed! The B&B is ideally located close to the main centre of Brighton only 5-8 min walk max, but is far enough away from the lights and noises to not disturb your slumber. Car park located just in front of the B&B is reasonable by Brighton standards and means you don't have far to carry your bags.

Reception staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming, same can be said for the staff in the cafe.

Breakfast (at an extra cost) was lovely! Organic and healthy options as well as fry ups, good tea and coffee with lovely bright views from the dining room across to the sea. Vintage style cups, saucers and plates made a lovely addition to the scrummy food!

Our room (Mel Sheppard) was very unique! Round bed, brightly coloured walls and plenty of space for two people, with a dresser and a wardrobe really couldn't complain! Lovely view across the green to the sea and old pier. Bathroom was small and basic but with a good shower - what more do you need?

Would thoroughly recomend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay somewhere a bit different from the bog standard hotel room. Very reasonable prices for what you get, lovely location, food and service. I've already booked my next visit!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the tiny bit extra for a larger double room with sea views. Mel Sheppard was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a surprise trip for me and a early Christmas present...My wife and friends had got us tickets to see Madness and this hotel was booked as its a 5min walk away to the Brighton Centre
so perfectly situated...Wasnt sure what to expected as if im honest my friend had stayed in Brighton on business and tried to book the hotel he had stayed in but it was fully booked...SO glad it was as we came across this well run very accomadating hotel..as said small but very clean and quirky...The breakfast was a choice but we all had scrambled egg and bacon on toast which was lovely and we were even offered more when we said how nice it was...I dont normally do these sort of write ups BUT felt this hotel DESERVED it...Thankyou to all the staff especially the young lady who sorted a bit of parking for us...Great Weekend oh yer and Madness were good too....

Room Tip: Room 5 well decorated ,sea view and round bed...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had been staying elsewhere in Brighton for a few days and unexpectedly had to extend my stay and find somewhere else for a couple of nights. Glad I did. What a great find. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The cafe/breakfast room is lovely, so quirky and magnificent sea views. Breakfast was a welcome change from the bog standard cooked English (which as a vegetarian is even more boring and limited). Bedroom super comfortable and wifi (yay!). A bath (lovely). I really liked the little pamphlet on places to go/eat/drink in Brighton. Very useful and great choices. TV didnt work but that was no big deal (except I really was looking forward to the luxury of watching The Killing in bed).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, free WI-FI, a cocktail shack bar and cafe deli are featured at this unique townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in the historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Also, as part of a hotel there is one of Brighton's best restaurants, The Set, which features a 4 course seasonal tasting menu with a paired, optional, wine flight. These dishes are prepared by 2 of Brighton's best chefs. During the day and night they can also be found serving up some gourmet fish burgers in our cafe space, the AR Cafe. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and upcycled furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen tvs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. In addition to being a home from home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist Residence Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.