We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Downs Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Downs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Downs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Warren Road | Woodingdean, Brighton BN2 6BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently stayed for three nights whilst visiting friends in Brighton. Hotel rooms are very basic but clean and at £45 a night quite good value for the Brighton area.
The staff are very friendly and helpful,the full English breakfast was very good and quite filling.
One point which was very noticable and very welcome considering how cold it was during my visit,was the fact that the hotel was incredily warm and cosy. Full marks for cosy comfort.
Obviously at such a basic price the hotel requires serious updating,but then the price would most likely triple!
I would not hesitate to return to this very good value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    18
    18
    20
See reviews for
13
26
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was forced to book a room on Tuesday 22 Jan-live only 5 minutes from the hotel but snow had affected all roads badly and public transport and taxis were unable to get in or out of Woodingdean,and as I am waiting for a knee replacement operation am unable to walk very far.
The room was very cosy and warm and the staff were really friendly and helpful.
It was not en suite but don`t nornally have a problem with this except that as I did not know I would be spending the night in a hotel did not have night clothes with me and had to use one of the bed throws as a sort of toga to cover myself when making trips to the bathroom-fortunately did not meet any one.
Breakfast was excellent and filling and then the hotel owner arrived and after hearing my story gave me a lift home,which was much appreciated.
A very pleasing experience all-in-all under the circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clacton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked in with a party of friends. Not made at all at home. The room was ok but the "double glazing" was very loose and noisy. Kept awake by traffic right out side and the flashing traffic light by window. The evening meal was an experience,I have never been approached by a waiter to ask if there were any complaints! No dessert available as the barman wanted to go to bed at 10.15.
Not a hotel I will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good sized rooms. Great if you stopping on your way through. Breakfast was good. However its quite a way from Brighton sea front and stanmer park. Would cost £11-£12 in a taxi. I would stay again though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed with a group. Disaster, weren't made welcome at all. Rooms clean but windows rattled all night and didn't block the sound of traffic. Morning staff very friendly, good service, large breakfast but the damage had already been done.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends for shake down festival. The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. Staff were really helpful when we asked for directions. Breakfast was nice. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed with a group of mates 9 .

Really bad experience, rude staff, very dated rooms, noisy , poor food, definitely to be avoided . Showers were a cold dribble doors to the comunial shower room would not shut.
Beer was ok on the one plus side

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs Hotel

Address: Warren Road | Woodingdean, Brighton BN2 6BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downs Hotel is set on top of a hill overlooking rolling countryside down to the sea. We are family run and pride ourselves on offering guests a warm welcome. With a bus stop outside that takes you into the centre of Brighton within 15 minutes you can leave your car in our FREE car park and enjoy our beautiful city leisurely. We have a traditional English bar which is popular with locals and has a pool table & darts board. We serve a variety of beers & ales (inc locally produced ones), alongside this our inviting restaurant offers homemade traditional dishes, and our head chef Brendan creates some wonderful weekly specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.