We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue and great afternoon tea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tea Cosy

The Tea Cosy
3 George Street, Brighton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #323 of 871 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great venue and great afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Visited here today with my sister. My third visit and wasn't disappointed. Great atmosphere and decoration. Very quirky! Had the most amazing flavoured scones. I've only ever had plain, cheese or raisin before. Not here. I had rocky road and she had salted caramel. They were warm and out of this world! Staff v attentive. Planning to take bf at some point and would recommend to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    12
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude and unhelpful. Don't even bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Prebooked for a post hen night afternoon tea, arrived with a few of small suitcases and told they couldn't accommodate our group because of the bags. Would have been a nice bill for them but the woman couldn't even be bothered to think out of the box to do anything to help us. Was difficult even during the booking process. Unimpressed is understatement

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very fun royal themed cafe with a royal themed menu. Cakes and lovely and very nice cream teas. There is a great amount of choice and they cater for all tastes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Eccentric, tacky and lovely all at the same time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I think a booking advised here, though we rocked up to the Tea Cosy one day without a booking. Luckily they had a table I popped in for tea and cake with my Grandma. It's a cute little cafe with an insane amount of Royal memorabilia. My Grandma was in her element.

The tea and cake was lovely - a couple of quid over what you'd pay at another little cafe but this place is definitely worth a visit if you're in Brighton. It kinda has to be seen to be believed. Plus the food is really nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The perfect place for Afternoon tea with the girls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We had pre-booked a table for 4 and pre-ordered a Princess Dianna Memorial Tea for 2. We also ordered a William and Kate Vegetarian and the Queen Mother's Cream Tea. It all arrived together, so much food! Lots of tea and a great atmosphere. We weren't rushed and the service was very attentive. Cakes were amazing! And any we had left over we took home with us. Great quality and perfectly priced. Would definitely go again :)

I think it's pretty petty of the previous person complaining for paying 35p for soy milk! Most places you have to pay extra and if you pre-order they can make you gluten free versions!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Cosy also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Tea Cosy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tea Cosy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.