We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Brighton!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest and the City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Guest and the City to your Saves list
Guest and the City
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Broad Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Brighton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed with Mardi and Dan for one night so we could avoid having to drive home after a show. The hotel was quirky, interesting and with excellent customer service - Dan and Mardi were really great, helping us to park and providing ideas on restaurants we hadn't tried before.

We had a great meal at The Plateau who gave us free drinks when we told them where we were staying. The room was modern, clean and cosy with everything you could need. It's situated just off the seafront and just a few minutes walk to The Lanes.

Definitely not a chain hotel experience and all the better for it. All in all a "very Brighton" experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    49
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
477
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Cosy, clean room. Great breakfasts and a very friendly welcome. Interesting choice of fruit/vegetable juice in the mornings:) Mardi and Dan suggested some great eateries during our stay, with deals such as free champagne/money off in a few places. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at Guest and the City for a couple of nights earlier this week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are like nothing we'd seen before with the stained glass window and quirky little features and the little indoor balcony where we could sit looking out at the sea and sipping a glass of wine before we headed out to dinner was an added bonus. I should add that the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with a bathroom that looked as if it was newly fitted.
Dan and Marni the owners made us welcome from the moment we arrived. They clearly love Brighton themselves and want to help their guests to make the most of their visit with lots of advice on places to go. They even give you a card so if you visit one of their recommended places you get a discount or benefit. We went to a restaurant they recommended and had a delicious meal and received a free glass of wine, we also saw a fantastic jazz band at The Mesmerist one of the recommended bars. The cooked breakfast made by Dan would be hard to beat and guests were asking for the secret to his perfectly cooked eggs.
We came away for a much needed break and left feeling fully rejuvenated. I don't think you can really fault the place if you want a room that's a little bit special in a great location, good food and friendly service then you should go to Guest and the City, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I must say firstly that the whole experience was a complete joy. As soon as we arrived to the moment we left. The room it self was perfect for what me and my partner wanted. Very clean and tidy. The location was perfect for the centre of town and to finish the breakfast made by dan was the best I've ever eaten. Thank you very much to mardy and dan for a lovely weekend from Sophie and Russell hood will definitely be visiting your hotel again x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Can't say I've ever had a room with a stained glass window before...nor an oversized study floor lamp! Everything was cute and a little quirky. Clean, comfortable and cosy. Dan and Marni, the two amazing owners - I absolutely appreciated their hard work, care and attention.
'Work is love made visible' and yes, I felt truly loved...wonderful hotel. Many thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have been the hotel this Wednesday , the service was really good and the host was very nice. The design of each room were different and specially warm.We would like stay in the same hotel in our next visit to Brighton.

Jiecheng

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Loved the look of GATC on the website and we knew we'd made the right choice from the moment we arrived. Dan was very welcoming, our room was comfortable and stylish (loved the stained glass! and our balcony) and nothing seemed too much trouble. Delicious breakfast and the map with recommendations for eating out was very welcome. We went to Plateau and would really recommend them. Thanks to Marni and Dan for a great place to stay. We hope to be back before too long.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the front rooms with the stained glass windows. Really loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest and the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest and the City

Address: 2 Broad Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guest and the City 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest and the City is a boutique Guesthouse that reflects all that we love about Brighton. With seven private bedrooms, situated in the heart of Kemptown, minutes from the centre of Brighton, 30 seconds from the beach and opposite the famous Palace Pier, it’s the perfect location to explore Brighton for Business or pleasure. We want our guesthouse to reflect everything we like about staying in Brighton. Guest in the City therefore takes the best bits of a traditional B&B – a relaxed, friendly service, a central location and of course a top-notch breakfast with locally sourced ingredients – and puts them in modern, high-spec surroundings. The result is a boutique feel without luxury prices. To us, that’s what Brighton is all about – finding new things that surprise you and make you smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Guest and the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest And The City Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest and the City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.