We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never experienced anything like this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Taste of Sahara

A Taste of Sahara
103 Western Road, Brighton BN1 2AA, England
01273 911 843
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Moroccan, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A Lebanese and Persian restaurant on Brighton���s busy Western Road, Taste of Sahara gives seaside dwellers a taste of the exotic at a very reasonable price. With its d��cor created with care to reflect the atypical Middle East of story books and holiday brochures ��� all pierced tin lanterns, heavy wood and rich colours ��� Taste of Sahara has a look which reflects the diverse flavours of its immensely flavourful menu. From kebabs to tagines, all one���s Middle Eastern favourites are offered by the Sahara kitchen, along with some lesser known dishes that will tempt the more adventurous diner. In particular, the restaurant���s mezzes prove popular, the sharing concept somehow suited to this kind of cuisine, particularly when accompanied by the BYO policy.
1 review
“never experienced anything like this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner took me here for a meal and as soon as you stepped in it was out of this world. It was so relaxed while the music in the background sends you out side of England. The food was delicious however being an Irish girl could not prounouse the name of the meals sadly however would deffiently come back more often!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    67
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant is fantastic. A huge choice of meze and main courses, all of which are full of flavour - we were a group of 14 and everyone thought their meal was fantastic. The portions were also huge and therefore excellent value for money - compounded by the BYOB with no corkage charge policy. The owner, staff and chefs were also really accommodating and catered for special diets and requests for our big group. We also enjoyed shisha on the outdoor terrace.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This restaurant is amazing and we wish we had one round the corner from us. Flavours galore and you will never leave hungry. Very relaxed atmosphere and can't fault the managers service and advice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great staff, great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited Sahara yesterday evening (my 2nd visit) for a friend's birthday.
We were immediately met by a very warm welcome; The waiting staff were attentive, informative, friendly and accommodating.

The food was absolutely outstanding - I had the sea bream and highly recommend it - the portions were plentiful and it is all very reasonably priced given the level of quality (not to mention you save an arm and a leg by bringing your own wine!).

The owner was an absolute laugh a minute and really made the evening what it was; He brought our friend a free dessert, sang happy birthday to her and saw to it that we all came away having had one of the best evenings. Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Do not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This really is a little gem. The food is excellent, the staff are nice and the ambience is great. It is BYOB, but there is an off license just three shops down so this is no problem. Do not miss. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Sahara also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to A Taste of Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Taste of Sahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.