We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for long term stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grapevine Seafront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Grapevine Seafront to your Saves list
The Grapevine Seafront
75 - 76 Middle Street, Brighton BN1 1AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for long term stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice and clean hostel with helpful staff. They provide a weekly rate and a box in the kitchen for long term stays. They often hold events like Fajitas night and they serve a free Sunday Roast.
Good Wi-Fi signal. We met some very interesting people during hour stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    20
    7
    55
See reviews for
4
5
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Despite being close to The Lanes, Brighton Pier and the City Centre, the hostel surrounding is quite sketchy and home to a few pubs/bars/clubs. It gets really noisy at night till around 1-2 am and it's fine after.

The room was crowded with bed bunks and you can barely move around properly inside, what more with your luggage (if you have large ones and don't really need them, just leave them at the reception if you're staying for a short time). The pillows are really thin. The beds are thin. Make sure to just clean your bed, just in case if there's anything. The bathroom smells as there's no ventilation. The shower has a window directly looking inside, but there's a shower curtain. The whole building is congested, stairs are really narrow, again, just leave the big luggages at the reception if not needed.

Overall,
The staff are friendly.
The location is great.

Noisy at night, can't sleep.
Congested rooms.
Not so good toilet and shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The room could have been cleaner and our beds were squeeky and made a lot of noise when we moved. Over all it was a great place to stay, so close to The Lanes, shopping center, shopping streets, great restaurants and bars

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many hostels in Brighton, but this is by far the worst! Is like sleeping in the street! I could say thousands of bad things about this hostel, but I would never finish, so I start: small room where they have placed four bunk beds where there is only room for two; incredibly basic rooms, with nothing but the beds; really old and dirty mattresses and pillows (the pillows are as thin as a paper); doors and windows that don't close (so you are at risk to be robbed and during the night is freezing cold because the windows are blocked and can not be closed; on Thursday, Friday and Saturday forget about sleep due to the noise outside; the blankets and pillows haven't been replaced in years, and they are dirty and often smelly; the bathrooms are usually more dirty than clean, and they are as basic as the rooms; staff is friendly but not helpful, the building is old and shabby and not properly maintained... Do you need more reasons not to stay here? Even paying 10 pound per night it is expensive because you don't receive anything but headaches. AVOID!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

6 of us stayed her for 1 Saturday night, I am a regualr vistor to Brihton and normally pay anyweher from £50 - £150 for accomodation, as there were 6 of us going everyone agreed they wanted the cheapest place possible (so we could spend more money on booze!) found this place for £20 a night, i warned them it probably won't be the greatest at that price but we all agreed nothing can be that bad and it was onyl a place for our stuff and somewhere to pass out in, read the reviews before i came and did think oh god but when we arrived we stopped worrying, guy on reception was really nice and friendly, we got to our room (stairs our very steep) it literally had 3 bunkbeds and that was it, i had a shower and the water was either freezing cold or boiling hot which was a bit annoying, in the end my friend washed her hair in the sink! Got a shower/bath/sink and a mirror so we were all happy with that as that's the basics for a night out! Had 2 plugs for hairdryer/chargers! Perfect location if you are in Brighton for a night out your bang smack in the middle of everywhere, we had a seaview from our room, you've got buddies below which is a 24hr food place so it was noisy when we got in but we all passed out in the end, was a bit cold but soon warmed up, all in all if you just want somewhere to stay in Brighton on the cheap for a night out this is ideal, and to all the moaners, go and pay more!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Firstly, it wasn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, some of the reviews seemed a bit harsh compared to the room we had. It was in good location for Brightons gay bars and other nearby clubs as well as the beach, pier etc, the staff seemed helpful and when we phoned ahead to let them know we were running late, they left our keys with the night guard and let us pay up the following day. The room didn't seem particularly unclean, but was incredibly basic, three bunkbeds and that was about it. Nowhere to hang any clothes, no kettle etc though as a budget hostel I wasn't overly bothered. The main concerns with the place were firstly the noise below in Buddies 24hr cafe, we stayed in the room directly above, and the rabble of drunk people below continued well into the morning, thankfully I'd had enough to drink myself to manage to get a little sleep, though I could imagine those staying with families or those not staying for a boozy weekend would find it a real nightmare. Also when we got there, a friend had a shower after 10 mins of arriving, the steam for which set the fire alarms off in the entire place, and that was the last bit of hot water we got for the full weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed in a few hostels around this price before but I have never stayed anywhere this awful! Granted, it was in a great location but this is undoubtedly their only redeeming quality.
The room was really dark and grubby, there had obviously been no care in the cleaning as a friend and I had found litter sat by the skirting boards.
The beds were incredibly lumpy and made horrid squeaking noises with every movement and if this wasn't bad enough, the noise of what felt like never ending stag parties coming in and out of their rooms at all hours was just unbearable.
Finally - The shower... I really thought this was a basic amenity that I wouldn't have to worry about but they couldn't even get this right. Freezing cold at 7pm and boiling hot at 9am.
I know they can't vet the klientel for every room, I guess the stag parties were just cherry on top of the very bitter, gone off cake!!
I think a weekend in prison may have been more comfortable..... and this is by no means an exaggeration.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grapevine Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapevine Seafront

Address: 75 - 76 Middle Street, Brighton BN1 1AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grapevine Seafront overlooks the vibrant and popular seaside between Brighton's two famous piers. From here we offer shared rooms for 2, 3 or 4 guests, with showers and toilets conveniently located just outside the rooms. Private rooms also available with en-suite showers & fabulous sea views. Our relaxed and friendly team is always ready to welcome you and to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay in our vibrant and diverse city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Grapevine Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapevine Seafront Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grapevine Seafront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.