We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb New Townhouse Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kemp Townhouse

Save Saved
You added Kemp Townhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kemp Townhouse
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb New Townhouse Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

A new hotel - a new experience.
Quietly located in Brighton town close to seafront & all activities.
Opened only 4 months ago.
Superb decor & excellently appointed rooms, attention to every details - nothing left to chance!
Felt to made special.
What a specially cooked to order breakfast too - of the highest quality.
Owners will do well.
Note off street car park charges apply.

  • Liked — New - fresh - stunning
  • Disliked — nothing found!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    55
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
188
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

Our stay at the Kemp Townhouse was wonderful. The decor is lovely, relaxed colours with beautiful furniture and fittings, leaving a feeling of pure luxury.
We stayed in the Comfy King with a stunning antique bed which was incredibly comfortable hence the room name I guess! The small touches made the stay memorable, with the blue sensor lights in the wet room, meaning you don't have to stumble around at night time looking for the light switch!
The breakfast menu made for a difficult decision, I went for the Eggs Benedict which were perfect. With the added surprise of a smoothie of the day to wash away the morning doziness!
All in all, a beautiful hotel, impeccable service and delicious food.
I am looking forward to going back already!

  • Liked — The luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Rooms amazing, staff friendly, breakfasts best we have ever tasted! If you are going to Brighton, stuff the Grand, stay here and you won't be disappointed! Just be careful you are booking the right hotel, our friends by mistake booked Kemp house and not Kemp townhouse and got a much more inferior option. Good restaurants nearby are 'no name' and 'Sam's place'

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — difficulty in parking, can't be helped though!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

I stayed in the snug single room when I visited Kemp Townhouse last week to visit with friends in Brighton. It was a brilliant choice of B&B - from the immaculate rooms - the shiny bathrooms - and the fabulous breakfast (the home made granola in particular) - it was all the best possible way to visit Brighton. I can't recommend it highly enough. I would say this was the best value B&B I have experienced in the UK.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Having checked out of Blanch House after refusing to stay there, a few doors along we stumbled upon Kemp Townhouse. It was by now 8pm on Friday night and we decided to ring the bell and try our luck to get 2 rooms. Russell one of the owners showed us around and a 'deal was struck'. This place truly deserves to knock Blanch house off it's top spot. Attention to detail, amazing 6 star breakfast, and charming hosts. The only bad part was leaving, we shall definatley return.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I picked to stay at the Kemp Townhouse as we didn't really fancy any of the big hotels on the seafront and wanted somewhere a bit more unique.

We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice: the couple that run the guesthouse are really warm and friendly, gave us great advice on what to do and where to eat whilst in Brighton and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Their attention to detail is fantastic, the whole place is elegantly and beautifully decorated and of course perfectly clean. The individually cooked breakfasts were a real treat and there was a good choice to keep everyone happy.

The "cosy" double is really quite small and so if your budget allows I'd recommend one of the larger rooms (if they're not all booked up as they were when we went)!

  • Liked — Individual friendly service
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

My wife and I own a hotel in Scotland and came to Brighton for a wedding.
From my first conversation with Claas I knew we were in for an excellent stay!
when i stay in a hotel, of course I want it to look good and feel comfortable, and you just need to look at all of the reveiws here to see how stylish an establishment it is! (particularly for the price you pay).
But more important for me than these things is the level of service that a business is prepared to offer. And Claas and everyone at the Kemp Townhouse could have written the book on top quality service.

  • Liked — the breakfast smoothie!
  • Disliked — my wife wouldn't share her smoothie with me!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kemp Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemp Townhouse

Address: 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kemp Townhouse 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kemp Townhouse: "Brighton chicest new hotel. The IndependentKemp Townhouse offers luxury boutique accommodation at affordable prices. All 9 bedrooms have stylish en-suite wet rooms and boast their own individual features such as bay windows with sea views, beautiful antique fireplaces, free standing bath or indulgent four poster beds. The Regency style listed property is found in a quiet location, just off the seafront, close to the beach as well as restaurants, shops and Brighton’s thriving nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kemp Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemp Townhouse Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kemp Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.