We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfresco

Alfresco
Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2LN, England
01273 206523
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alfresco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 872 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fabulous Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

When we were given the menus I didn't have much hope about what was to come. They were old and shabby... But then we were presented with food that delighted our eyes and palates!

We ordered the Antipasto misto made with a selection of Bellota ham, followed by Poached fillets of sole served with lobster collops, Jerusalem artichoke puree, braised baby fennel, diced truffle and lobster butter reduction accompanied with buttered black truffle potatoes. It was simply delicious and the presentation stunning. Then for dessert, we had the Poached pear belle Hélène filled with Madagascan vanilla ice-cream served with warm hot chocolate sauce and Toffee banana tarte tatin served with a rich chocolate ice-cream and homemade banana crisps. Great flavours and texture there too. We both had a glass of wine to complement our meal.

Iit was a wonderful lunch, congratulations to the Chef. The staff was courteous too which made the experience even nicer. But the weather was abysmal so we could not comment on the view!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    113
    46
    26
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice value for an amazing meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The staff are outstanding, happy to help and meet your every needs. The owners, chefs and waiters are all genuine Italians. Wide selection of Italian food and drinks.
Good atmosphere for an evening meal.

Would come back time and time again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Chaotic start but lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

my husband had booked on line to eat at Alfresco as part of a surprise day out in Brighton to catch the last of the autumn sun. When we arrived there was a large sign outside saying closed for private function and it was quite obvious there was a wedding going on in there. My husband spoke to the staff and they said there was nothing they could do. We weren't very happy, but as we walked away we were called back by one of the staff who said we could sit outside (which was where we had booked anyway) but couldn't eat until the wedding was over. The setting is wonderful, right on the beach with a thirties, ocean liner feel to it. We sat down and were brought the menus and asked if we would like a drink. We both ordered drinks and perused the delicious looking menu. After about 5 minutes, our drinks hadn't come and another staff member rushed over and whisked the menus away saying we couldn't look at them yet. We waited a further 20 minutes for our drinks and then the menus were brought back to us. It was all a bit Fawlty Towers, but the sun was shining, and we were sitting above the beach looking down on everyone so was great for people watching. We had real difficulty deciding what to order - there were some great choices - a lovely truffle pasta (which was a main) but they agreed to serve me as a starter. I then had the sea bass wrapped round lobster with a delicious sauce and lovely vegetables. The one thing I wished I hadn't ordered was the pudding. I didn't need it and was just being greedy but I love tirimasui. What came was a large chunk of dry and flavourless sponge with cream and was pretty inedible. I can't understand how they can get some food right and go so disastrously wrong with really quite standard recipes such as tirimasui. The meal wasn't cheap but for the setting and the lovely two first courses it was fine and we did spend nearly 3 hours there, afterwhich we staggered down the stairs and hired a couple of sunbeds on the beach below to sleep off the excess!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Reading
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty food, not cheap though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

6 of us went for lunch today, without a reservation. We were able to sit outside in lovely sunshine. We only had a main course each and whilst mine was really tasty (pasta with beef in cream sauce), one of the other diners had pizza that was unimpressive and the spaghetti bol was quite dry. Service was ok. At £106 this was not good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Staff inattentive....It took ages to take our order..then we wished we hadnt bothered !
Food was rubbish, cold and badly presented... Will never ever go back there

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Alfresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.