We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly lovey experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton Beach

Brighton Beach
Brighton, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 244 things to do in Brighton
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A truly lovey experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My adult daughter and I really loved our visit to Brighton Beach. Coming from Australia, we had seen postcards of the windswept, pebbly beach, but were surprised to find how delightful and charming the place could be, even on a bleak, windy day. In fact, coming on a bleak day added to the attraction of the place.

There are a lot of fabulous small shops fronting the beach, full of unique art and crafts. We spent around 3 hours just going in and out of the tiny shops. The individual shops are definitely worth a visit as you will find items there not available anywhere else. You will find some typical tourist shops, but on the whole, the place is full of really unique and worthwhile finds.

Cafés and bars serving different types of food (including fish and chips), are available right on the beachfront. The pebbles on the beach are fascinating, as they are beautiful when you see broken ones and how lovely and shiny they are on the inside. The sea was wild that day, and watching the surf pounding on the pebbles, the strong smell of sea air and the atmosphere of the place was really wonderful and made for a memorable day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    464
    185
    50
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good clean fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really, really clean and litter-free when we visited which was so refreshing these days. Wasn't sure if it was because people care or there are good services locally but whatever the reason it was admirable.
Great place for a head-clearing stroll but quite a trek if you go along the sea edge - pebbles are so exhausting!
Some nice wee shops along the way and some delicious fish and chips (although some places look less than inviting).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Day out in Brighton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Brighton is one of my favourite places to visit while in UK. A few weeks ago caught the train to Brighton from Victoria Station. Journey was pleasant and didn't take long at all. Other times I have journeyed by Coach but this time found the train a much better option. Started the day by walking from Brighton Station downhill to the the shopping area. Spent an hour or so at the Royal Pavilion Gardens having a picnic. Then moved on the Lanes. Interesting area. Seeing it was a sunny day then strolled along the pebbly beach. So different to the sandy ones in Australia. Lots of people doing the same as me. Some of the shops a bit tacky as well as the pier. One cannot go to Brighton and not walk out on the pier.
Then it was time for a coffee which I had in a little outdoor cafe in the Lanes area. Next I ventured to the North Laine area for some retail therapy. As I am interested in crafty stuff I found a couple of fabric shops where I purchased some great fabric to fill the suitcase. Would have bought more only excess baggage bells rang in the brain. Well next time perhaps. Caught the bus back to the station as it was an uphill walk there. Arrived back in London a bit footsore but had an enjoyable day. Don't miss Brighton when you go to the UK.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Pebbles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The beach is full of pebbles, although looks clean.

Lots of little shops to have a look round some full of tourist tat some a bit more elegant. Cafes and bars for lots of different types of food.

Nice to have a stroll for a few hours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miraflores - SPAIN
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
178 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
553 helpful votes 553 helpful votes
“Lovely Old School Beach & Shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

lovely beach for a stroll , a bit pebbly but nice and clean.
the weather wasnt the best very windy but we were wrapped up warm

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Beach also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.