We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, awful service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yo! Sushi - Brighton

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yo! Sushi - Brighton
6-7 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
+44 (0)1273 689659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #517 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, awful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I've eaten in different Yo! Sushi in UK but this one have a big issue: the staff. They are more interested in chating each other than to attend costumers, I used to go to to have lunch at this restaurant but the fact to have to deal with the staff it's quite annoying, I had to ask for hot food more than twice several times, a blonde waitress was even rude to us when we asked to have some stuff in our second miso soup. If you want something to eat you will need to ask directly to the chefs, actually it's quicker that way than wait for the waiter/waitress. I really enjoy the food but I must say that the portions are becoming smaller for some reason. Overall the food is okey but to have to deal with the staff makes you think if it's worth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    20
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It's fun! But pricey?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Yo! Sushi is a fun place to eat. Sitting up at the food bar as a conveyor belt passes with little dishes of food. And this is where it can get expensive! The portions are small and it's easy to have half a dozen little snacks and you've spent over £20! Better to order a hot dish of noodles or similar and treat yourself to one little passing dish as a starter. Good service. Super clean.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I visited Yo! Sushi for lunch. The overall experience was average. I had several sushi dishes, chicken teriyaki, and chicken katsu. The chicken was a little dry and the salmon wasn't top quality. The lunch cost around £32 for two people and I left still feeling a little hungry. Overall not great, though the service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place but not the best in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I do like this place though it's not my favourite in Brighton. The staff is quite friendly and the menu more interesting than other places.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good every time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Eaten here loads and always had a really good experience. The food is just brilliant and the staff are always professional and friendly. Sure, it gets a little busy at times, but that just shows how popular it is. Would give it 5 stars if the taps and call buttons worked all the time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo! Sushi - Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Yo! Sushi - Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yo! Sushi - Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.