We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ASK Italian - Brighton

ASK Italian - Brighton
58 Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AF, England
+44 1273 710030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 833 restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located on Ship Street in Brighton, we’ve created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we’ve created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food. Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Although part of a chain, ASK in Brighton maintains an individuality that makes eating there a pleasure. The food is well presented, full of flavour and promptly served. The waitress (Olga) was attentive and efficient, without being intrusive. A really enjoyable meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    23
    31
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Upon Hull
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Consistently very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

When we needed a quick per-concert meal we chose ASK. You know the standard of food is good with this chain and the bottle of Prosecco was lovely.

Friendly staff and nice decor add up to making this a place we would revisit when in Brighton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always Assured of Good Food & Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Whenever we are in Brighton ASK is the venue for Lunch. Always assured of good food, freshly prepared and good service, we never have to wait very long before the food arrives. Though come early or later, as during peak time you might find yourself having to wait until a table is free. And check out the special offers on the net for this restaurant, a voucher code can half your bill!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great service and very friendly staff. Food was lovely, freshly made and nicely presented. Quiet expensive for Lunch, but would go back for an evening meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Did not respond when reported food poisoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate here Friday 19th October. My partner had garlic mushrooms followed by a veggie pasta thing that she thought was OK. I had a garlic king prawn starter followed by spaghetti bolognese. The spaghetti was overcooked and the sauce was bland and thin on meat.

That night I had serious food poisoning, which I presume was due the prawns. I phoned the next day at lunch time just to inform them. The girl said the manager wasn't in and took my number so he could call me that evening. No call came, which I think is very poor. A good restaurant would want to establish facts and take steps to make sure it didn't happen to another customer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to ASK Italian - Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK Italian - Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.