We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostel; please ask YHA to keep it open!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Alfriston

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YHA Alfriston
Save
You added YHA Alfriston to your Saves list
Frog Firle, Alfriston BN26 5TT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostel; please ask YHA to keep it open!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at Alfriston in October, an amazing historic building with lots of character. It's on the edge of the charming village of Alfriston, and a very convenient stop for walking in the South Downs. You don't usually get to stay in a place like this unless you pay very high B & B prices.

With such an excellent location and building, it seems unbelieveable that the YHA management is apparently thinking of closing it!

Granted that many things in interior of the hostel are due for refurbishment, but the building itself is so much nicer than the so-called "purpose built" hostels.

One great thing you can do when at Alfriston is to do the half mile walk to the very cosy Plough and Harrow pub in the village of Litlington.

Unlike some other reviewers, I thought the staff did a very good job. The only point of improvement I can think of was that breakfast could be a bit higher quality. For example, for starters, why not source some free-range eggs from a local farm.

Do yourself a favor and visit Alfriston, and then show your support: call or write YHA asking them to keep this wonderful place open!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

ok, firstly It's a hostel not a 5 star hotel. Granted not all hostels are created equal and Alfriston is shabby in places and could certainly do with a revamp. That said, it has table football, a big garden, plenty of books and places to read them, a great kitchen, friendly staff, free Wifi for members, clean linen, reasonable beds and if, like us, you have a big family then it's not stupidly expensive. We spent our 6th wedding anniversary here with our 3 kids, splashed out on 2 rooms and had a wonderful time. The walks into Alfriston itself are gorgeous and we ate at the Plough and Harrow in Litleton, which was good food and a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Some people say the rooms next to the road are noisy but we slept like logs in ours. If you have kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This hostel oozes character and captures the spirit of the yha.Educating young people about the outdoors and creating precious family memories.It was clean and everything was fully functional.The alternative would be b&bs at 5 times the price, but they are threatening to close this hostel on September.Shame on you yha management!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Beautiful location, lovely building, comfy communal rooms, well equipped and very clean members kitchen. Loos and showers were clean and acceptable. Areas to work on: beds/matresses have served their time and should be retired. Sleeping in a hostel dorm is always a bit of a challenge - the ropey beds do not assist. Staff seem a bit unhappy / cross with things and this manifested itself in rude/short behaviour - eg on asking for the bike shed key of someone we were told they were not working - although they manifestly appeared to be! Overall the place seemed about 30 years behind on a maintenance schedule - it wasnt as though the roof leaked or things didnt work - it just felt a bit unloved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sorry YHA but you need to do better.

The pros; The staff were OK but I think they wanted to be elsewhere. A small kitchen, not bad to make your own stuff and a small, free car park. Some nice original features and some large rooms with comfy sofas.

Cons outweigh this though, breakfast at nearly £5.00 was far too small and poor quality. Pay for wi-fi, expensive! (thanks BT). The decor looks like it is trapped in an 80s type warp. Peeling wallpaper, damp, mould, dirt, battered furniture.

For the YHA to pay £17 a night (this includes member's discount) is not good enough for this day and age. Time to abandon the Hi-de-Hi image. I have spent this amount of money in much better quality hostels. This is how to do it.

1. The place needs a complete refurbishment, new beds (not wooden), new furniture. Keep some original features (wooden beams/fire place) but modernise everything else.

2. People expect more facilities like free Wi-fi, free tea and coffee, clean and efficient washrooms/showers. Costs money yes but these are standard and expected.

3. Employ someone instead of relying on volunteers, someone who takes pride in their job.

4. The food needs to be much better, better quality, wider choice, better price.

People will resent paying good money on shoddy quality when they can and have experienced better elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, General Manager at YHA Alfriston, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Yha Alfriston, we appreciate all feedback.

In response to your points raised, I am pleased to hear you liked many of the features of this traditional flint house, and will therefore be pleased to hear that a program of works is planned over the winter focussing on redecoration, and and refurbishment of the windows.

Yha has been listening to customer feedback regarding Wi Fi provision at it's sites, and as a result has recently re launched it's membership offer, with an enhanced benefits package. One of these benefits is free Wi Fi to members. This is available at over 50 sites, with Yha Alfriston being one of these.

I'm disappointed to hear that your experience of the customer service offered didn't meet your expectations during this visit, but I will ensure that your comments are used to help the team at Alfriston to meet the Yha's usual high standards of customer service.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Manager - Yha Alfriston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

YHA Alfriston is simply the most horrible hostel I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in many hostels. This could be a lot better place, but at the present state of affairs, my best advice is to avoid it. Here's my experience in details:
- the building looks OK from the outside, but that changes right away when you enter
- there is not one piece of furniture that doesn't show signs of age and use and that is putting things mildly
- I booked a single room for 30 pounds and was assigned room 9 which smelled of damp, had the paint coming off the walls, had a rotten window (and when I say rotten, I mean it) that did not insulate heat or sound
- the bed and the mattress looked cheap and horrible, this is the standard of the 70s
- my room was situated right next to the main road, and even with earplugs it was extremely difficult to sleep (the front manager guy's advice was "oh traffic will calm down after 9pm - needless to say, it did not)
- the hostel is licensed to serve alcohol which means that you can consume booze bought here only - overpriced and of the cheap variety
- personnel seem to be lost at what they are doing

This is a shame because YHA can do so much better, but this place is in a dire need of renovation and personnel training. It has a lot of potential because it is in a nice location, close to Brighton and Eastbourne, but until there is some visible change, I do not think I will come back.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a room in the back that must be a lot more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Do not stay here unless you have no other choice! I haven't used a youth hostel for many years but despite this I was lead to believe that they have improved somewhat, however this is definitely not true for the Alfriston YHA. My room for which I paid £30/night smelt terribly of damp, the windows were rotten and the bed and mattress left a lot to be desired. On a good note the quilt cover and sheet along with the wash areas were clean. The staff could learn a lot about customer service .... the only staff member who was pleasant was the lady serving breakfast. The reception desk was poor - friends were told they had to wait for service because they were busy serving tea was unacceptable ... a 30 minute wait to be told which room you are in is not good. I was told by the reception desk that the internet/wifi had the speed of a snail and not to bother using it. although I think I actually had the worst room in the building none of the other rooms were brilliant. Dirty curtains, broken chairs etc etc .... this place needs refurbishment and new management!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Alfriston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Alfriston

Address: Frog Firle, Alfriston BN26 5TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alfriston
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
YHA Alfriston East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Alfriston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.