We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing stay at The George Inn, Alfriston” 2 of 5 stars
Review of George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Inn
Save
You added George Inn to your Saves list
High Street, Alfriston BN26 5SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Alfriston B&B and Inns
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing stay at The George Inn, Alfriston”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partenr and I booked a room for a special weekend away. I had called to ask if the room we liked the look of from their website would be noisy at the weekend, as it overlooked Alfriston High Street. I was assured that at weekends there was very little traffic on this road. The reality was very different; there were cars chundering past constantly from the time we checked in at 4pm on the friday utnil about 11pm at night and starting up again on Saturday morning. Plus as it is a very old Georgian building, with no sound proofing, you can hear everyone in the pub/restaurant until closing time.
There was no heating on in our room or in the ensuite bathroom at all during the whole time of our stay, the room wasn't particularly clean (the bedside lamps covered in dust). The price - £140 per night which included a very poor breakfast, (tasteless coffee and catering packs of tasteless jams and marmalade) we think was way over the top for the very poor standard. We had booked for 2 nights, but thankfully only paid for one. On the Saturday morning, we asked to speak to the manager or owner to explain why we were checking out and how dissapointed we were. At first a young and junior member of staff was sent to deal with us (very cowardly) and when the owner did appear, his main concern was that he was going to lose out as he "could have let the room out 10 times over" for the Saturday night! No matter that our weekend had been completely spoilt. He didn't really address our complaints, just said sorry regarding the heating, but didn't offer or offer us any compensation. We thought his 'customer service' was terrible. If you are thinking of going to Alfriston for a quiet weekend and are looking for clean accomodation, don't stay at The George Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
16
46
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We revisited the George in view of the good recent reviews. It is a beautiful 14C building, and the log fires and great interior make a cosy, comfortable environment. It is dirty though. We ordered food in the evening, and my fork and spoon were dirty. I returned them to the counter and unbelievably, the landlady took them and wiped them with a bar cloth and gave them back to me. We did not stay to eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My son and daughter in law recently held their wedding reception at the George. Everything was perfect. A dream come true. The dinner was beautifully and very effieciently served to 50 guests. Welcoming cocktails were served in the garden. Some of us enjoyed it so much we returned for lunch the next day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed just one evening with a couple of friends on a walking weekend. Charming old Inn, rooms a little noisy as thin walls and facing onto road through village, but terrific beer and food. Would haiiply return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a wonderfully pretty part of the world, and the George Inn fits in a treat. It's a beautiful building, with a well-run, friendly pub, pretty beer garden, and very interesting rooms. Ours had some fascinating wall art from centuries past, and a rather large fireplace where you can imagine ladies of times-past warming their feet. However, the character and charm of the room - which included a sleigh bed, posh sitting chairs, 'proper' coffee, and HobNobs - was slightly undermined by some slack dusting on the (very high) ceiling, a bit of paint peeling here and there, and a bathroom light that vividly shines throughout the whole room when the rest of the lights are out. However, other than that, it was great, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay overnight here again.

The staff were very friendly and attentive, and cooked up a storm for our breakfast, which is taken in the restaurant which overlooks a pretty beer garden. The bacon was crisp, the eggs poached perfectly, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff (despite some very tricky customers on a table adjacent to ours being quite rude to them). Evening food is slightly overpriced, but tastes good, so the extra couple of quid on our main meal seemed worth it. It also seemed to be the case that locals and tourists alike were eating and drinking there, which I always think is a good sign.

The location of the pub is very handy for the South Downs Way, which pretty much runs past it, and do stop in to the first ever National Trust property which is adjacent to the village church, and worth a look for the cottage garden alone.

Room Tip: As the rooms are located above a pub, it's an unescapable fact that you're going to experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had an early lunch on a sunny day, while cycling the South Downs Way. The food is above average pub fare, I had fish and chips, which were fresh and fabulous. As I started to climb up the steep, rough track out of the village, I quickly regretted eating so much - although for that I can blame only myself.

The service was friendly and efficient, and they make good coffee. The Inn's interiors exudes genuine period charm. Its garden is a delight too and has an entrance to the rear that practically opens on to the South Downs Way. Two main meals and two coffees were approximately £24.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went for a lovely walk along the nearby river and to visit the National Trust's first ever property at Alfriston Clergy, then stopped for lunch at The George. It wasn't too busy, so we got a table and the service was great, lovely staff. The sharing platters and other food coming out looked good, but unfortunately we chose the Sunday Roast. It was very disappointing - very very average on all fronts. No yorkshire puds, over-thickened gravy which the (rather tasteles) meat had obviously been warmed up in, dreary lukewarm veggies (carrots, cauli & courgettes) and a couple of average roast potatoes. It's £10.95 so not expensive, but very dull indeed - it was really only one notch above school dinners. Note to chef: MUST TRY HARDER.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Inn

Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
George Hotel Alfriston
George Inn Alfriston, East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.