We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an attractive venue deserves a better menu. Pub food and white table cloth and serviettes do clash.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Star Inn Restaurant
High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TA, England
+44 (0)1323 870 495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Such an attractive venue deserves a better menu. Pub food and white table cloth and serviettes do clash.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I had a fish pie. Boiling hot.the small amount of fish was overcooked. Too salty. In fact looked like vomit. My friend had gammon. Was ok. Both our starter were good.
Friendly and capable waiter.
Surroundings are very nice. Cloth serviettes and napkins. Very clean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but a limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Star is a lovely building itself and the hotel bar was very good. The barmaid was very friendly and gave excellent service. The food itself was lovely, I had a fish pie, and a lovely rhubarb fool for desert. My friend has a dish of belly pork and lentils, which he said was delicious. My only issue was that there wasn't a huge range of choice on the menu. I could see some people struggling to find something to their taste on it. The beer on tap was good local stuff though, which certainly helped things along. All in all I would recommend the Star for both its food and its service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great price and amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This little bar was lovely with a small menu but well presented and prepared, I had the bell of pork stuffed with black pudding it was extremely tasty, one of my friends had the fish pie with did not last long on the plate, as well as the classic Gammon steak and fried egg. Well with a visit

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hope to return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a meal here Saturday afternoon - the staff were friendly, the food was great and we really enjoyed it. Sadly, we didn't have time for dessert! Hoping to return soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very poor service, a place to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

From the outside the Star is a very attractive building, and their website is very informative.
However we had a very poor experience here. The staff seem to be all foreigners and do not seem to speak or understand English very well. This meant one of our food orders was entered on the till wrongly and they found it difficult to change it. They seemed to be struggling with orders generally, with queues at the bar most of the time we were there. Although there were only five of us and we ordered together, the meals came out one by one, with 5 minutes or more between each one, so that when the last arrived the first person had almost finished their meal. The menu is very limited and the prices high - not a problem if the food were good quality but in reality the food is very basic and low quality, with small portions. Also the beer was poor and prices high. One last point -the bar with its timbered walls is attractive, or would be if it did not have a large screen TV on the wall - very incongruous and odd. I'd suggest you visit the George or the Smugglers instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn Restaurant also viewed

Alfriston, East Sussex
Alfriston, East Sussex
 
Alfriston, East Sussex
 

Been to The Star Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.