We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Star at Alfriston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Star at Alfriston to your Saves list
The Star at Alfriston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Lovely Stay...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights for a short midweek break. The welcome at reception was very warm and one of the staff helped us with our luggage. Our rate included dinner, which was excellent. My wife had a steak one night and it was cooked perfectly. The hotel is quaint and has a nostalgic charm to it as it is in the centre of the village. We wanted to go walking and found the Llama Route map supplied by Tracy to be ideal. Our breakfasts were tasty and plentiful, topped off by lovely serving staff who made the day start with a smile. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    74
    43
    29
    22
See reviews for
69
111
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The location is great, and the old front of the building is beautiful; however, guess what, the rooms are all out the back in a big 1970s 2-storey block that has none of the charm of the old building. I stayed for a weekend, room only, and made the mistake of having breakfast on one occasion; a buffet with cheap, lukewarm cooked ingredients, the usual cereals, and a toaster that didn't toast, cost us £11.40 per head...which was a bit of a shock. Didn't eat in the restaurant, but walked past a couple of times - the poor people inside looked like they were dying of boredom - no talking, no music, no atmosphere. Similarly the bar area was devoid of any atmosphere or homeliness. Ate over the road in the George which was great so my advice is go there for a pint and a meal. The Star, which is very pricey, just doesn't come close to what I would expect from a historic old country inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. The team are sorry to learn that you did not have a great stay with us. For future we are able to accommodate you in the old part, as we have guest rooms on the first floor (Victorian wing) and two Feature Rooms in the ‘very original’ part (over 800 years) at the front of the hotel. As you were staying with a z-bed we allocated one of our larger doubles which are located in the modern wing you have mentioned – a great representative of 1960’s architecture which was built in Lord Forte’s day! Your rate was for Room Only (£30 for 2 adults per night) although we do make an additional charge for child beds and adult breakfasts. We are sorry you didn’t find the atmosphere of our restaurant or bar inviting, however your comments are helpful to us with our future planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

There are no words to express how wonderful the Star is as a wedding venue! Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done willingly and with a smile.
My husband and I married here 20th April and we couldn't have asked for more. We simply had the best day ever!
The food was amazing; lots of guests commented on how lovely it was, the rooms were of a good standard.
A special thank you to Lucinda and her team for truly looking after us all. I'm not sure I was quite at Bridezilla status, but was certainly heading that way! Lucinda has a calming aura!
The hotel itself is lovely, with the older, original part of the building being simply gorgeous. One slight word of warning, watch the low ceilings. They certainly add character!
Alfriston is a stunning village, so please make sure you go and explore, oh and don't forget to have a cream tea!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton Aston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The front of house is old and looks the part. the hotel area is quite new but is in need of a little TLC. given the price I would have expected the furnishings to have been of a better quality though they were adequate. It was a shame that the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied.
Having said that the location is ideal for exploring the village and the surrounding areas. Reception staff were helpful.
Breakfasts were nice and there was a very good choice to suit everyone.
The car park is at the back and is spacious.
The rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback and our apologies that your stay didn’t meet all your expectations. The hotel is planning to undergo some refurbishment work soon, when planning approval has been made as we are a grade two listed building. We aim to keep standards as high as possible so we will review our housekeeping procedures in view of your comment raised.
Thank you for bringing these points to our attention we hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Arrived on a Friday evening and felt like we had landed in an episode of faulty towers. The barman started to serve pints of Fosters which we hadn't even asked for. Then became even more confused by trying to find two reserved tables for five, when there was only five in our group.

Ordered our packed lunch for a walk on the South Downs the following day, and only found out during our walk that they had not even been buttered. The driest sandwiches I have ever eaten, thankfully the hotel did agree not to charge us for them.

On the last day one of our group went to order porridge, and was told that it was already on his way to him, which was very clever as he hadn't even placed his order !

Whilst we were there I overheard the receptionist ask one couple why they had not stayed for their dessert the previous night. The couple replied, "well after ordering our dessert and waiting for an hour we gave up!"

The other point to note is that this hotel does accept dogs, and there were plenty there. So if you are allergic this is not the place for you.

In summary if you want good food, very friendly service and a nicer environment, stay in the George which is opposite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered with our service during your stay. All our catering staff undergo a comprehensive training program and at this time of year, we have new recruits who are still training on our systems and processes, particularly on a busy bank holiday weekend. Our location in a National Park means that we welcome doggie guests, however the hotel has specific rooms allocated for pets which are regularly deep cleaned. We hope that despite the points raised, your group had an enjoyable break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.Cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Felt like I had been shuffled into Gods waiting room! There really is a fine but definite line between old fashioned cosy and old folks home! Unfortunately the star has blurred the boundary. Tired , shabby, quite depressing and cold rooms in the old part of the hotel. Nursing home "chic " in the "new" part of the hotel. Lack of attention to any detail in fact just complete lack of attention all round! Terrible food, (chef obviously on holiday or left altogether) no restaurant in use (wedding 5 days later being set up for... Well 5 days!!) few staff and totally disinterested management/owners. The only saving grace is its position in Alfriston and the very good, if few on the ground, staff. Felt like more of an ordeal than a break! Definitely too young for this place, my feeling is even Methuselah would be too young for this hotel! Not good.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the original rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apoligies that your stay with us was not what you were expecting. We are planning to carry out refurbishment works in the hotel, including the replacement of soft furnishings, but are currently in the planning process as we are a grade two listed property. Our restaurant is currenly located in the Library as this room offers a cosier location for dinner than our usual restaurant room. Whilst we are investigation your comments regarding the food, we are pleased to learn that our catering team provided a good service, as the team do all work hard to provide guests with a happy and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chailey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff couldn't have been more lovely here, but the hotel is tired, lots of things need fixing in the rooms and updating. The bed was a very small double, strange as the room was very spacious. The bathroom has Hazard stickers all over the place, warning you the water is hot, the bath can get slippy...health and safety gone mad and just adds to the 1970s retirement home feeling. Also, you only get a tiny soap and some shower gel, bit mean considering the prices. The cold tap didn't turn on and the door hook was missing, leaving a big hole. Surely these are basic fixes? The bar had a toilet cleaner smell about it and looked rather random with the furniture, so we went over the road to The George. Lovely pub and great atmosphere with a proper roaring fire. Breakfast was served at The Star by very attentive and delightful staff again, but was very average, the sausages were hard and the bread thin and white. It felt more cheap greasy spoon than expensive hotel. You also had to cook your own toast, which meant walking through to the buffet room, standing by the toaster after feeding your toast in. I hate that, it always makes me feel like im at a cheap buffet and is hardly conducive to a relaxed breakfast planning your days walk. They clearly have the staff to spare, so why not offer toast at the table? The Library where you take breakfast is poorly decorated, dark and consists of a tiny bookcase with less books than i have at home. It shouldnt be difficult to achieve a successful hotel: Comfy bed, great shower, excellent staff, slap up breakfast, cosy bar and fab location. Its got the location and the staff, they just need to work on the rest

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. Please rest assured that your points will be given due consideration by the relevant departments. Many of our double beds are a standard 4’6” size and were integrated in to the designs of the bedrooms, making it difficult to change these. Our bathroom signage has been suggested by authority on this matter, to forewarn and prevent injury to guests. Please accept our apologies regarding you breakfast service, as this is usually an area of compliment for us. We offer a self-service toaster so that toast can be served hot to our guests and at their chosen time. We hope that the hotel achieved higher commendation in other aspects of your stay, including your experience with our staff and hope that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Star at Alfriston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star at Alfriston

Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star at Alfriston 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear All Travellers, Here at The Star Inn we are going through some very exciting changes, we are currently undergoing a full refurbishment project of all 37 of our rooms as well as our Bar/Lounges and Restaurant. This project has been carefully planned by our team to ensure that the history and character of the building is enhanced for all to enjoy. The Star will temporally close from 11th January 2015 and will be reopening on 05th March under new management. Below is a brief fragment of the history that this 13th centaury Inn has to offer. Until 1520 The Star at Alfriston was known as ''The Star of Bethlehem''. Then run by the monks of Battle Abbey, the hotel offered shelter to friars and pilgrims as they travelled to Chichester to visit the Shrine of St Richard. Considered as a Hold House in its time, the inn housed a 'Sanctuary post' which provided instant church protection to fugitives and smugglers. This post still remains in the bar today, it powers of sanctuary, however, now cease to exist. A lion figurehead can be found in the front of the building. It is thought to have been brought to Alfriston by a gang of well - known smugglers after it washed upon the shores of Cuckmere Haven, following the decent of a Dutch warship into the English Channel. Restored in 2003 by the local rector, the figurehead was repositioned on the opposing corner of the hotel for its protection. We look forward to seeing you, Kindest regards Thomas Tolhurst General Manger ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Star at Alfriston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star At Alfriston Hotel Alfriston
Star Hotel Alfriston
The Star Hotel
Star Alfriston
The Star At Alfriston East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star at Alfriston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.