We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but beautifully formed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfriston Clergy House

Alfriston Clergy House
The Tye, Alfriston BN26 5TL, England
01323 871961
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Alfriston
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small, but beautifully formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Clergy House is lovely. It's very small though, so you'd be unlikely to spend more than a leisurely hour in the house and its gardens. The staff are fantastic - as other reviewers have remarked. We went in early September, by which time the gardens were past their best, but worth visiting nonetheless. We also visited the nearby church and enjoyed our wander around Alfriston (tip - if you're arriving from the north, the first car park you come to - on your left - charges, but the second one - further up on the right - is free).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    43
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend a sunny afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went here in August with the family. Alfriston Clergy House is the first place to be acquired by the National Trust, so it would be worth visiting for that reason alone. However, the medieval house is most attractive, and the gardens are a lovely place to wander, take photos and muse on how many varieties of apples the supermarkets don't stock.
It's not a grand house or garden, but it's a good place to spend a lazy afternoon in the sunshine. Don't miss the view of the house from the river - wish I'd taken a photo!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A super time, interesting history and was super to hear about the bats. Although we went as a couple there was lots ther for kids to do. This was small compared to some of the other NT properties in the area but well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Old Clergy House is an unexpected find in the village of Alfriston, It is managed by the National Trust and gives a glimpse of times gone by in Alfriston.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just visited this delightful village and found a gem of a cottage owned by the National Trust. It might not be the grandest or largest of places but the staff were the best we have ever encountered! ( and we have visited lots of NT places!) The grounds were peaceful and pretty. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfriston Clergy House also viewed

Alfriston, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Burwash, East Sussex
 

Been to Alfriston Clergy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfriston Clergy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.