We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brief escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanage Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Swanage Haven to your Saves list
The Swanage Haven
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stourport on Severn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A brief escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fab- don't really want to tell others because we may not get in!!! We managed to grab a couple of days off and booked to stay here. Excellent choice I made. Lovely rooms, excellent welcome and superb food. Had both our evening meals in because enjoyed the first so much ( and hubby is a chef of many years). So relaxing can't wait to return. Next time I might squeeze in a massage from the lovely Dianne.
Try it you ll love it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
It was great to meet you! Thank you for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    46
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
349
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

A Five Star (5*) establishment through and through. After our three hour journey from London and an amazingly short ferry ride we arrived to private parking at Swanage Haven. Greeted by David he showed us to our spectacular superior double room with a view of the garden and surrounding area. The first night we feasted on Dianne's mouthwateringly delicious dinner and every morning we were filled to the brim at breakfast with an assortment of local fresh and homemade food! We got to know David & Dianne, who we kept up way too late one night, talking about life, but who in turn shared their knowledge of the area and granted us an opportunity to venture out and see the sights even though it was not peak season. We had an superb stay the cleanliness, size and comfort of the room was excellent!!!! We would most definitely recommend Swanage Haven and can't wait to return - nothing negative could be said!!!!

Lee & Amira

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We miss you already! here is to the Jamaican Bobsled team! David & Dianne x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This B&B is so deserving of its 5 star rating. Our room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast room is lovely and there is a stunning bar, restaurant area. David and Dianne are fantastic hosts, very warm and friendly. There is a huge choice for breakfast and its all locally sourced and home cooked. They do cook evening meals if needed but we chose to go out, but if we return would hope to sample them. To top it all there is a spa and I was lucky enough to have time for a massage by Dianne - brilliant! Just a couple of minutes walk to the beach and a short walk to town its in a great location. If you're going to Swanage its the place to stay for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Your stay with us was much appreciated, we hope to see you again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just recently returned from Swanage and loved it. We went away over Valentines day however it was actually for my girlfriends birthday which is the day after. After arriving early evening we were promptly greeted by David and shown to our room. The room was stunning, it was beautifully decorated with rose petals and a chocolate rose, a very nice touch indeed! The bathroom looked like it had just been put in and was spotless. As there is only 7 rooms and its adults only, you get to know the other couples staying there at the same time as you which I thought was really nice, David and Dianne are a lovely couple who are keen to get to know you and we ended up spending a lovely evening just chatting away to both of them. We ate at the Red Lion on the first night which we found to be a charming local pub and the food was pretty good. However after seeing Diannes cooking the night before, the second night we stayed in for dinner. Wow was it worth it, the food is INCREDIBLE! All homemade and you can certainly tell. I had a chicken curry for mains and ended up having some of the apple cake to finish. My advice - stay in for dinner! I can't think of anything that beats it!

The breakfast on the otherhand is dangerous, beware you will probably need a hand getting out of the restaurant after eating it as it certainly fills you up! If you leave breakfast hungry you are very strange indeed! The choice on offer is more than you will have chance to sample, I stuck for the cooked breakfast each morning which was all locally sourced plus some toast which was made in house. It was all so good we ended up buying some of the Lemon Curd they make to take home :D They even remembered it was my Girlfriends birthday on the Saturday and David came in singing Happy Birthday with a little cake they had made. It was a brilliant way to top off the weekend and I can safely say, it was eaten by the time we got home!

Nothing is to much trouble for them, David and Dianne are lovely people and we will certainly be back for more, although next time I will make sure I have a set of jeans the next size up ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and Trouble to write this review, it was a total pleasure to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

From the minute we arrived, right through till we left, nothing was too much trouble. David and Diane were so welcoming and friendly. Our bedroom was spotless and comfortable with a large ensuite. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and all locally sourced. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the spa facilities but definitely an added bonus. We will definitely book again next time we visit Swanage.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and making our first weekend open in 2014 such a happy one. hope to see you again . Dianne & David x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our second time staying with Dianne & David at their lovely b & b. We stayed a week last summer and had the king size at the front so decided to try a different room this time and had the superior double at the back which is on the top floor. A lovely room with amazing views of the hills and beautiful en suite shower room. The food is beautiful and plentiful and we spent a couple of evenings in the bar having a drink and chatting (and laughing!!) with Dianne and David.
A lovely relaxing place to stay with many places to visit even in the winter :) and we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently spent four wonderful nights at The Swanage Haven, and, as on previous occasions the service, food and accommodation were first class. David and Dianne were welcoming as always and were always on hand with advice for days out places to eat etc. (stay in for your dinner is my advice!). Our spotless room was spacious with an en-suite far bigger than our bathroom at home. The bar area (added since our last visit) means that weary legs only have to make it down the stairs to enjoy an evening of local ale and a chat with other guests (and David). Four nights just wasn't enough and hopefully we will be back again very soon - we still need to try out the hot tub!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanage Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach,, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated . The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanage Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.