We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amanda M” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanage Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Swanage Haven to your Saves list
The Swanage Haven
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 56 Swanage B&B and Inns
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amanda M”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights having been recommended by a friend.
Diane and David are great hosts and the menus are creative and interesting.
The décor in the hotel is fresh and trendy and everything looks clean and tidy.
The town centre is about a 10 minute walk away and the nearest pub and restaurant about 5 minutes.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Was great to meet you, thank you for your feedback, David and I are glad you enjoyed your stay, come back soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    45
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
339
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My Mum and I stayed for 5 days at the Swanage Haven at the beginning of July. David and Dianne were fantastic hosts and you could see and feel how much time, thought and work they have put in to making the place such a joy to stay in. They were helpful, friendly, yet respectful of our space. The place is perfectly situated for the town, beach, and for many walks in many directions. I liked that the area was quiet and residential immensely and that it was an adults only establishment. Our room and bathroom were immaculate, beautifully decorated and furnished and gave us a wonderful view of the Purbecks every day. The bathrobe and slippers was a lovely touch which made you feel like you were staying in a luxury hotel. Breakfast was simply unbeatable for quality, amount and choice as was the evening meal. I liked the added touch of being able to sample a local beer from the microbrewery in Corfe from the bar. There is no doubt that we would return to the Haven when we next visit Swanage. It stands head and shoulders above the other B&Bs in the town and totally deserves its Boutique status. I have stayed in Boutique hotels in Brighton that could learn a thing or two from David and Dianne. I should add that my Mum and I both thought we got real value for money and our experience of staying at the Haven definitely added a great deal to our enjoyment of a holiday that we both really needed. Thanks David and Dianne! Next time we will actually remember to try the hot tub!

Room Tip: There were bigger rooms at the front of the house but the view out of the back room was lovely and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very friendly hosts and a lovely room. We were in room 7 and it was very spacious, great facilities with a very comfortable bed. Superb breakfast, loved the home made bread! Happily recommend and would book again.

The town centre is a 10 minute walk along the sea front. Victoria Road is in a quiet area so no noise problems even with the windows open in the heat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for you review, we aim to make everyone stay a great experience, receiving such great feedback vindicates our aims. Would be lad to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed in a great many guest houses and although most of them have been good there is always something you think could improve your stay.
The Swanage Haven, however, is perfect, the rooms are immaculate, excellent location, food great quality and well cooked and the hosts have the B&B hosting honed to perfection plus the added bonus of a free hot tub!
It is no surprise that this B&B is always full I think they could fill it three times over.
We will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were just here on our honeymoon, and the owners were incredibly welcoming and lovely throughout our stay. The little confetti touch at breakfast was much appreciated! Would definitely come and stay here again. Thanks David & Dianne!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a few years ago and it was good then. In that time Dianne & David have managed to improve The Swanage Haven. The bed....we had this time was spacious enough with excellent bathroom facilities, very clean and a comfortable large bed. Plenty of tea/coffee making facilities also available in the room.
The breakfast....fantastic options from fruit through to full english, juices, fresh coffee, tea and toast as required. The breakfast is a match for anything we have had before.
The bonuses of the Swanage Haven are evening meals, including starter and puddings and a bar. The owners/hosts were pinnacle to our fabulous stay with their friendly attitude to all guests which encouraged a very social atmosphere.
We did not use the hot tub on this occasion but found it very enjoyable on our previous stay. Will be staying here again and would highly recommended it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Always a pleasure to meet new people who then become friends... We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.... We would be happy to welcome you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The other reviewers weren't wrong, this is a great B&B. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated and the whole B&B was modern and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious and with homemade conserves and bread. And as for the hosts, both Dianne and David were excellent, friendly and informative hosts. I've already recommended the Haven to family members and can't wait to return myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanage Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach,, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated . The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanage Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.