We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a warm welcome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caythorpe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Caythorpe House to your Saves list
Caythorpe House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Rempstone Road, Swanage BH19 1DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 Swanage B&B and Inns
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a warm welcome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Caythorpe House is a lovely place to stay, with a superb location and a very warm & friendly welcome. They even went out of their way to ensure there was a travel cot available for our baby. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
48
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

New owner, Alan, makes you so welcome, superb location, good rooms, great breakfast, parking and just 100 yds from beach. Wished I had stayed more than just the one night but will be back as so loved Swanage and Caythorpe House so well located and comfortable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just come back from a wonderful stay at the Caythorpe. Alan was warm and friendly and made us most welcome. It is located in a very convenient location for the beach and Swanage town and was good value for money, plenty for breakfast, rooms clean and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a superbly well situated B&B; within 200 yards you have the seafront, the steam railway station and the first batch of shops. We stayed 4 nights during and after the Folk Festival weekend. Alan, who had taken over only a few months earlier, was very friendly and couldn’t have been more helpful. He was always willing to be flexible where possible – a few extra hours to leave your car after you’d check out, or one scoop more/less in your morning cafetiere. Two features we particularly liked having were free Wi-fi and the comfortable guests’ lounge. Before we left, we booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This B&B is perfectly placed - a stones throw from both the beach and the town centre. Alan is a warm and welcomimg host. He took over the B&B in June and it is his dream to be in Swanage running a B&B - this passion really comes through and he did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable (which it was!). We had an upstairs room with double bed and bunk beds (just the 2 of us) - a nice size and very clean. Small ensuite shower room, but no need for it to be bigger. The off street parking is great and takes away the pain of looking for parking and moving the car. A lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just returned from staying at caythorpe .Alan gave us a very warm welcome with an added bonus of tea and biscuits on arrival. Rooms lovely and clean .Great location .We were staying for the folk festival so could`nt have book a better spot. Beach is at the botton of the road with the town a short walk away . Alan was very helpful and alway cheerful .The guest house also has a lovely garden (which he worked hard on over the weekend we stayed ) You are able to park off road , we did`nt need to move the car during our stay with everything so close so another bonus if you don`t want to drive during your stay. Carol and Maureen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Caythorpe after seeing the hotel while visiting the area a few months before hand and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The room was lovely and clean and we had a lovely view of the sea too. The breakfast supplied was extremely generous with the choice of cereal, fruit juices, fresh fruit and they also served a full english breakfast aswell which really set us up for the day. We will definately be looking forward to staying there again.
Alan looked after us really well and this hotel is definately worth staying at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caythorpe House

Address: 7 Rempstone Road, Swanage BH19 1DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfy bed and a hearty breakfast in our welcoming guest house. En-suite rooms with Freeview DVD Television, tea/coffee facilities. Ground floor single and twin rooms, on site car park, all just a stones throw from the beach and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Caythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caythorpe House Swanage, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caythorpe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.