We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge to your Saves list
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A wonderful hotel. We have visited this hotel twice and both times have had a lovely time. Very nice staff, clean and bright rooms. Lovely breakfast. Brilliant location. On the first visit we were offered a free upgrade which showed stunning views of the sea and beautiful Swanage. Hope to back very soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    113
    49
    16
    19
See reviews for
49
169
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for 4 days and really enjoyed the comfortable, spacious and airy superior room. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the evening menu looked good.... . Unfortunately we didn't get around to trying it because we had other activities planned. Will definitely stay again next time we plan to stay in Swanage.

Room Tip: Room 16 a superior double was excellent with windows to two sides and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Booked this hotel as a last minute short break in March. What a a great find. ! Booked direct with the hotel and stayed in the newer part of the hotel called Louisa Lodge, in room 40. Fantastic huge room with view of the sea and coastline seen through a lovely floor to celing big square bay window. Hotel gardens were gorgeous and lots of interesting garden statues/ornaments dotted around. Hotel staff were really helpful and made our stay relaxing and comfortable. The breakfast was served in the large conservatory and the menu was great, something for everyone. Cooked breakfast which was lovely and the continental selection was well laid out and was self service. We would really recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were given a free upgrade to give us the best located room for is to be within baby monitor range of the bar. The room was huge and the service and food we had were excellent. As with many of these stunning old hotels the interior is a bit dated, but I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our third visit in 3 years and we hope to return next year. It is all we ask for, and probably more. The menu is excellent and devised by chef Maric. It is vary varied and the food is always delicious. Nothing is too much trouble. The head waiter is Damien and he too is excellent as are all the waiting staff.

Our room this time was in Louisa Lodge and was very comfortable, warm and well equipped as well as spacious and quiet.

I am particularly interested in the hotel's history and find the new coloured booklet very informative.

See you again next February.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

An characterful old country house hotel in the centre of Swanage, with a large car park and attractive garden. Helpful staff, decent restaurant and bar, and a short walk from town centre cafes and shops (and the beach). I stayed in the modern annexe which is clean, comfortable and fairly roomy, if a bit functional. It's also very quiet as it's set back in the property's grounds. The only downside was that the bed was quite hard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the Louisa Lodge & Purbeck House Hotel for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location on the hill in Swanage and is close to the local pubs, restaurants and cafes whilst being very quiet. The gardens are lovely and I imagine a great place to relax in the summer.

Our room had all the modern conveniences needed and was simmply furnished. The family room was large and clean. The staff were also really friendly and attentive - and even helped send a shirt back to me after I left it there by mistake. A full cooked breakfast was also available every morning. A great base for our stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge

Address: 91 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Purbeck House Hotel, "An Oasis of Relaxation and Enjoyment." Purbeck House Hotel is a family-run hotel steeped in over a century of history. Nestled in extensive gardens in the centre of Swanage, close to shopping centre, Pub, Restaurant, this unique family-run hotel combines the atmosphere of a traditional country house with all the amenities of a modern hotel. Steeped in history, the 38 bedrooms are divided between the main house, constructed in 1875, and the newly-built Louisa Lodge (completed in 2003). All of the bedrooms are en suite, Tea/Coffee making facilities, LED HD Flat Screen TV, Iphone Docking Station, Iron and Iron Board, Direct Dial Telephone, Free Broadband WiFi Connection and some have sea or garden views. The hotel has a large car park and is only 300 yards from the sea front and the clean, sandy beaches.This Family howne this Hotel for the last 15 Years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purbeck House Hotel And Louisa Lodge
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Swanage
Purbeck Hotel Louisa
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge Swanage, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.