We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crows Nest Inn

The Crows Nest Inn
11 Ulwell Road, Swanage BH19 1LE, England
+44 1929 422651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 66 Restaurants in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Crows Nest Inn is a family run pub located inn Swanage, in the heart of Dorset. The pub serves a full selection of draught beers, wines and spirits for your enjoyment along with a lovely range of soft drinks for those drivers and non-drinkers. The pubs fantastic atmosphere and friendly staff make The Crows Nest Inn a pub everyone wants to spend the day. Situated on the premises is a large beer garden and a children's play area, parents can have a refreshing drink during the warm summer months while the children play. Disabled access and friendly staff are on hand throughout the pubs premises, making this pub easily accessible for all. To keep everyone amused there is a retro 1980's gaming table on the premises. The Crows Nest Inn boasts a carefully selected menu using the freshest, locally sourced food around! Freshly prepared traditional classics and modern favourites are served to perfection every day. All special occasions such as Birthdays, Christenings and Weddings can be catered for in the pubs restaurants area, which can accommodate up to 50 guests at any one time. So whether it's a quiet drink or a lively night out The Crows Nest Inn is the place to be.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have eaten here many times but especially for the Sunday Carvery.
At £8.49 a head, it has to be the best value for money in Swanage. The meat is fabulous, really tender beef or fabulous chicken. All locally sourced. Potatoes are home cooked, good sized yorkie, stuffing, plenty of gravy and a decent selection of 3-4 veg at all times. Shame I can never manage a pud!
Try also Friday's as that's 'Burger Night'. Home made with toppings of your choice.
Good home cooked honest down to earth grub. Can highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    65
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice food & lovely staff...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Second time we have been back as a large group. We we're able to book and pre -order before we arrived to avoid long wait, which is superb service.
Waiting staff were helpful, prompt and friendly, great considering they were looking after a large crowd and other diners.
We took advantage of the 2 courses for £15.99 (on the Saturday night) which was a fab saving! Really nice country pub, friendly people and good food. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Presentation was good and food was enjoyable. Staff very friendly. Very convenient and within easy walking distance of the Grand Hotel, where we were staying.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my local while working in Swanage, and what a great family run pub! I discovered a love for pork scratchings (you've got to try them!), but the actual meals were always good too. Sunday Carvery was always good with plenty of food for you to help yourself to! A nice beer garden out the back was put to great use over the summer, and dogs were always welcome. A good selection of drinks at the bar, and plenty of entertainment (darts, pool table and jukebox)...also a good place to watch the Rugby! I visited with my workmates, my bosses, friends and boyfriend, and would certainly take my family there if the ever get to Swanage.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC FRIENDLY PUB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just got back after another wonderful week in the beautiful resort of Swanage, this was our 3rd visit in the last 3 years over Easter and we have used this lovely friendly pub more and more - this year we had Sunday Lunch, the Curry and Pint on Tuesday and the build a burger on Friday night.

Our party consisted of me and the wife 49/48, Mom 73 and our daughters 18 and 13, we found the staff really friendly and they always made us feel welcome, the food was fantastic and an absolute delight - I love my food and over the years have tried the lot and I can say the food they serve here is first class, it is freshly prepared and is real quality and is served with a smile which I think always helps.

If you are holidaying in the area give this place a try believe me you will not be disappointed,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crows Nest Inn also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Crows Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crows Nest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.