We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millbrook Guest House

Save Saved
You added Millbrook Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millbrook Guest House
56 Kings Road, Swanage BH19 1HR , England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
LONDON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GREAT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here on 27/07/2012 for 3 nights and was more than happy. Bob and Lynne made us very welcome and supplied us with info on walks, short cuts and places to eat. Breakfast was nice and plentiful, the price for our large top floor room was great ( £65).The room was large and comfy with all mod cons,thank you both again. Martin & Diane.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Millbrook Guest House is perfect if you're looking for a reasonably priced and excellently located place to stay. I've been to Swanage a few times before, and there are definitely fancier guest houses if you're looking for somewhere to impress or somewhere to stay for a special weekend, but you have to pay much more for these; in terms of value Millbrook is perfect, the room was clean, very well decorated, and the en-suite bathroom a good size. It's literally two minutes walk to the Swanage Railway (the reason for my visit), and only a few more to the beach. The full English breakfast simple but tasty and well cooked, and host very welcoming and friendly. If you're looking for a clean and decent bed for the night in a central location for a reasonable price I think you'd be hard pressed to beat the Millbrook Guest House - recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front but there was no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Very good location adjacent to bus and train stations with only a short stroll to the shops and sea front. Very clean rooms each well decorated and furnished…I had an en-suite room on the first floor with a view of the garden. Breakfast was good although there was no option for self-service cereals/juice etc and there was only a half hour slot from 8.30 to 9.00am. There was free Internet access, however this was somewhat intermittent, a small library of books and a selection of information leaflets that were useful. I’m not sure if it represented particularly good value for me as a solo traveller as this is my first visit to the area (I certainly hope not the last). Overall the management and staff were friendly and welcoming and I had a comfortable stay. It could be considered 'old-school' by some but it covers most of the bases reasonably well...Bearing in mind it is a 3 Star Guest House I believe it deserves its rating.

Room Tip: Some rooms are en-suite and others have shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Situated near the centre of Swanage on a main road. The standard twin room on the second floor, reached by rather steep stairs, shared a bathroom . Rooms at the rear of the property overlook a bus yard, the steam railway and the Asda delivery yard (which was noisy even late at night). The bedroom was basic but clean and tidy. Breakfast was served for half an hour only, so was a rushed affair, and the choice was limited.
There is free car parking available to the rear or on the street outside.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Not only is this guesthouse well positioned, minutes from town centre/beach/steam railway, it is so very warm, and welcoming. It is immaculately maintained and cleaned. Our room was spacious, light and airy. Lynne and Bob were friendly and helpful and made an excellent full english. Thanks and we will definately be back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is my 7th visit and everything was as excellent as it has been each time. I cannot believe it is not 1st in Swanage! Whether with my son or on my own, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms immaculate, clean and fresh and well maintained. Breakfasts filling and varied. Service efficient, and there is a really warm, welcoming, family feel about the place, I felt I’d "come home". It is ideally situated, a short walk to the shops, the beach and the wonderful Swanage railway. There is private parking for residents. I can't wait to go again, and as it's reasonably priced, I hope it will be soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The owners were very friendly and helpful
The breakfast was good and very filling
Room 7 was on the 3rd floor at the front a nice room and very quiet .
We felt very comfortable.The hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: On Wednesday the church across the road had bell practise..it was lovely to listen to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millbrook Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Guest House

Address: 56 Kings Road, Swanage BH19 1HR , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run bed and breakfast and believe in offering our guests a relaxing and pleasurable stay.Only a few minutes walk away from the town with the beach, gift shops, restaurants and Steam Railway, Millbrook is ideally situated to explore the Purbeck and Dorset Coastal area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Millbrook Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Guest House Swanage, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millbrook Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.