We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taunton House

Taunton House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Taunton House to your Saves list
Taunton House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   4 Taunton Road, Swanage BH19 2BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 56 Swanage B&B and Inns
warwick
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a great B&B - location excellent. Our room was spacious and comfortable, king size comfy bed good shower and nice decor. The breakfast was plentiful, really set you up for the day. Last but not least the wonderful Hosts, they were very helpful to anything you wanted and lovely people who had time to chat to you. Would highly rate this property.

Room Tip: They all looked comfortable. Ours was a double at the front! But very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
18
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend. The B&B is a fantastic base for exploring Swanage. The room was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. Mario and Anna were very friendly and the breakfast was superb. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had a very friendly welcome, the rooms were furnished to a high standard and were very comfortable, breakfast excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Well I think my title says it all. My family has had one of the coastguard cottages in swanage since my Mother was a child. All of my family visit it year round every year. This year there just wasn't enough room as one of my sisters have now got a baby. So myself & my other sister & her hubby had to find shelter elsewhere. My sister found Taunton House, cheers muchly to my sister & all her efforts with sorting this out, which was only a very short walk to our family cottage. Annie & Mario looked after our every need. Their house is charming and I loved there garden especially as I for my sins am a smoker so I had somewhere to go instead of standing out in the street. Their breakfasts were crummy. My whole option of Tauton House is 'most excellent' so much so that when my whole family & I went to church in Studland, for their Easter services, I recommend this B&B to another church goer. If we all go down together to Swanage again & I will be more than happy to stay at Taunton House again.

Becky Tripp April 2012

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Taunton House. Owners very friendly, helpful with planning our days out, and cooked delicious breakfast. Ideally situated in the centre of Swanage, with off-street parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have just spent a very relaxing weekend at Taunton House. Annie and Marios are charming, very hospitable and friendly. We would thoroughly recommend this B & B to anyone, the breakfast was delicious!!!! We both slept very well waking refreshed and ready for some long walks around the area, Annie and Marios having given us ideas on where to go. Lovely place, lovely people!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for three nights and found Taunton House a friendly and happy place. Greeted by Annie and with a relaxed easy introduction we quickly found ourselves at home.

Our room was light, airy and comfortable. The large fridge across the landing containing milk(with the jug on the tea tray) was so much nicer that the little plastic pots. The weather was very warm but we found no problems to having the window open at night and slept soundly.

The breakfast was excellent with ample choices, lots of tea and toast and the truly great Full English Breakfast. We were joined for breakfast by Mario and Annie and another guest. Our conversation covered different walking routes and sights and local information. We know the area quite well but even if we had not we would have gone out well provided with local knowledge.

Taunton House is right in the centre of Swanage with plenty of good eating places including good pubs close by. Any claim of "two minutes from the sea" would be entirely accurate.

Annie and Mario have no problems with walkers and understand them as well as taking a keen interest in how they get on.

We shall certainly return to this very felaxed and friendly home from home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taunton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taunton House

Address: 4 Taunton Road, Swanage BH19 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taunton House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Taunton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taunton House Swanage, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taunton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.