We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape for the Blues!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Great Escape Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added A Great Escape Guest House to your Saves list
A Great Escape Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Escape for the Blues!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here last weekend in room 2 for the Blues Festival It was our first visit but it certainly will not be our last. Our thanks to Sue for a great welcome and a terrific 3 nights stay. Lots of nice touches in the room like small silent fridge for fresh milk, cold beer etc(Sue provides the milk) and bathroom goodies. Fresh fruit salad delicious and top quality cooked breakfast. Enough said.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
210
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a four day break, last week. We had room 2 which was superb. The breakfast was excellent. Sue is a great host. Swanage was a great place and we had four days of SUN and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I can only echo what everybody else has already said, this place is above and beyond a b&b. We stayed in room 5, which was spotless & tastefully furnished, & very stylish. We walked in and felt we were in a boutique hotel rather than a b&b! The location is good, only an easy 10 min walk into swanage. Parking not an issue in same road or nearby. The breakfast is amazing! Sue bakes homemade bread everyday and it's delicious. Fresh fruit salad & cereals, and choice of cooked breakfast, smoked salmon, waffles, whatever you like. And the portions are generous and quality very good. I have nothing bad to say about this place, sue is an amazing host and should be proud. And for anyone who's worried about it being too homely or b&b like, it's not, it's absolutely perfect! And I'd suggest pre booking restaurants (the corner is great) as per sues recommendations on weekends as places were full up in August. Thank you Sue! Kevin and Sophie

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I just had to write a review, my partner and I have just come back from 2 nights at Great Escape , it was my Partners Birthday.
The room very lovely and clean and lots of little treats in your room to make you smile , breakfast lots of choice and very yummy and made to order the night before perfect !
Atmosphere so warm and friendly and so homely you will feel like your at home with the warm welcome from Sue you will wanting to stay she could not do more for you.
We had 2 great nights and even though the weather was a little hit and miss the walk to town was only 10 minutes so not far at all. Parking outside not a problem we parked a little up the street and the car was fine.
Wonder what to do while your here , we went on the steam train to Corfe Castle , visted Swanage pier and had the best fish n chips at The parade. Visited Durdle Door and Monkey World to finish our stay . perfect weekend and this B&B Just made it even better -
Sue we will be coming back - Sarah & Ed or was it Mo and Sarah lol :-) x x

Room Tip: Room 2 big bed :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fantastic place to stay - Sue really is so welcoming. The place was spotless and had all the little touches you can imagine which make it clear why it is the No 1 rated B&B in Swanage. Fantastic breakfast was also memorable. We'd recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay here. Sue is a wonderfully warm host who runs a very tight ship. Rooms are spotless and the fresh milk in the room fridge means that the first cup of tea of the day tastes so much better than with UHT.
Breakfast is always a treat, with freshly made fruit salad. Ordering the night before is a relatively new feature here and means there is a wider choice. This guest house would always be my first choice for a Swanage break and I look forward to next year's folk festival and a return to A Great Escape.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've just had a fantastic two night stay with Sue who was the perfect hostess - welcoming, flexible, knowledgeable and a true professional. Her disposition is as sunny as the Swanage weather and she takes personal pride in ensuring you have the best stay possible. A wonderful break and huge thanks to Sue for making our 'escape' from London such a 'great' one - we will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Great Escape Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.