We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall Lodge B&B

Save Saved
You added Town Hall Lodge B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Town Hall Lodge B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Town Hall Lane, Swanage BH19 1EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just stayed three days at the Town Hall Lodge. I cannot fault it.Wonderful rooms with superb breakfasts. The Swanage area is a great place for a break, and the hosts Judie & Clive will look after you. I will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    26
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
94
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've just returned from a long weekend in Swanage; although the town was great it was the Town Hall Lodge that made it superb.

The location is as good as you could wish for - in the middle of town, but secluded enough that the nights were peaceful. Less than 5 minutes stroll to the sea, a couple of minutes in most directions to the commercial streets.

The room was extremely comfortable; so much so that I'm waiting for details of the mattress on the bed to replace our own at home! Extremely clean rooms, plenty of decent soaps, shampoos and conditioners, the tea/coffee/hot chocolate sachets were all fair-trade sourced and a supply of nice biscuits/mints/bottled water was laid on as well.

What made it for me is the details - a selection of books in the downstairs hall to read if you choose (my wife left one to add to the pile), a box of board games if the weather is atrocious; if it's not too bad then some umbrellas were available to borrow if needed.

We didn't try the breakfast as my wife doesn't eat in the mornings, but it certainly smelled good.

Wholeheartedly recommended - when we return to Swanage, this is the palce we'll be staying...

Room Tip: All four rooms are on the 1st floor - rooms 1-3 look out over the front of the courtyard, room 4 loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very nice welcome and my suitcase was carried to my room for me which does not usually happen at other B&Bs. Very pleasant room which was large, light and airy. Plenty of cupboard space with enough hangers. Smallish bathroom but everything spotless and plenty of towels, soaps etc. Location is very convenient for beach, shops and local transport but still peaceful. I opted not to have the breakfast but the dining room looked most welcoming. I would certainly stay again and recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I arrived by bus from Bournemouth and the place was easy to find and very close-by. Because it was on a narrow lane it was very quiet even though it was central for all shops and the beach.
There was a warm welcome and my case was carried to my room which was great as the stairs were quite steep.
The room itself was clean and spacious and had nice touches such as great pictures and quality toiletries in the en-suite and there was even a little chocolate left on the pile of fresh towels!
The bed was comfy and the en suite shower room had a very efficient shower.
I had a peaceful night and there was no noise seepage from other rooms.
Breakfast was served in the what doubles as a tea room and is reached through a separate entrance door. Everything was very clean and you could see your breakfast being cooked.
I did not eat the cooked breakfast but I was impressed by the choice on the menu which included a gluten free breakfast as well as the usual standard and vegetarian choices.
There was a good choice of fresh fruit, including rhubarb and strawberries which happen to be two of my favourites and also grapefruit and prunes.
There was a choice of Dorset mueslis which were very tasty and the tea I was served was hot, a nice strength and came in a good sized pot.
There was also a good choice of juices.
I was very happy with my stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good central location (but quiet), beautiful building, rather French in style, ample size room (number3), good shower, nice soaps, shampoo etc, well decorated, interesting photographs, we had kippers for breakfast, excellent. no hesitation in recommending Town Hall Lodge. No on site parking but we got sorted easily enough a short walk away and in peak season as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My son and I stayed for two nights, and were delighted with our rooms. The breakfasts are amazing. The location of the Town Hall Lodge is ideal for exploring Swanage - very central. Clive made us very welcome, and was very flexible and accommodating. The lack of parking is a bit awkward, but Clive was very helpful on this, and was fine once you got your bearings. I recommend it as a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The panel room is very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great location, very satisfactory room, and all in all a very comfortable stay. Would recommend to couples. The private staircase is a nice touch so you can come and go as you please without having to check in and out or disturb anyone. We didn't have the breakfast but we've heard it's good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Town Hall Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Lodge B&B

Address: Town Hall Lane, Swanage BH19 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Town Hall Lodge B&B 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Hall Lodge B&B in Swanage provides high-quality accommodation and good food in calm civilized surroundings. Situated centrally, our accommodation in Swanage is only a couple of minutes walk from the beach, restaurants, bars, bus and train station - yet hidden away down a little lane looking out over a courtyard we are at a distance from the bustle of the High Street. We are now an adult-only establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Town Hall Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Hall Lodge B&B Swanage, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.