We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired hotel in sherborne” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherborne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherborne Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherborne Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Horsecastles Lane, Sherborne DT9 6BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sherborne
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“tired hotel in sherborne”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting friends in the area, I will not stay again. The room I had needed a complete refurbishment the carpet was stained in several places and the bathroom was full of rust on metalwork, the bath was chipped in several places and there was damp and mould behind the toilet, I told a member of staff who didn`t seem to care.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    37
    24
    12
See reviews for
31
73
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just had a very enjoyable time at the Sherborne hotel. The room was clean and well-equipped and the meals were very good for the money and served with a smile! The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel was full of comfy settees where we could relax and chat. Would recommend this hotel for value, friendly service and pleasant atmosphere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited this hotel for twixmas it was decorated very well for xmas, we had a room on the second floor, when you went out of the corridor to go up the stairs you could feel the cold and damp atmosphere, my bed felt damp the first night we stayed there, but we put on a heater that was in the room and soon aired the room up, the food was good, but the service was very slow, its just such a pity that the hotel is so far from the village for you to walk into to see the abbey, which I believe is a beautiful place to visit.

Room Tip: Opt for a ground floor bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was one of a group of stranded South West Trains Passengers from Waterloo who arrived by coach on the doorstep of hotel at 12.30 AM on the early hours of Christmas Eve. Jo the Manager and her staff (Holly and Lynn) gave us a warm welcome on arrival with tea and coffee and quickly despatched us to a room for the night. The following morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast buffet while Jo worked the phones to find us taxis to complete our journeys to our respective final destinations.

My sincere gratitude and thanks to Jo and her staff for taking such good care of us and at short notice.

sfkoolbrit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

we had booked sunday lunch at the Sherborne and as a surprise booked my wife and myself in for an over night stay,food was excellent,staff were fantastic and service very good,rooms were nice,clean and tidy,would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here for a 3 night long weekend in a group of 104 of us, bed, breakfast, evening meal & entertainment. (Friends who couldn't get in ended up paying nearly double for an inferior B&B in the town, they were so jealous!) The staff couldn't have been more helpful. I got stuck in traffic & arrived really late, 10pm ish, completely missing the hot buffet. I checked in, got washed & changed, & was delighted to find a good big plate of hot food brought out specially for me when I came back down! My room was clean & tidy. Yes it had a couple of niggles, ie. the bath had a chip, but they are uncertain as to the future of the hotel at the moment, so can't be expected to waste money on minor repairs if TESCO are going to demolish it. The food was good & plenty of it, nothing posh & fancy, but so good value for money. The weather wasn't brilliant but not to worry, we were even provided with a good selection of board games etc., they thought of everything! The hotel is in its own grounds, very peaceful, good parking, but easy to walk into town if you wish. On the morning of our departure the room girls were so so sweet, they helped a couple of our older ladies with their bags without even being asked. To sum up my stay, a warm & friendly home from home.

Room Tip: If youlike a bath, check you get a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A very enjoyable midweek jazz break hosted by Jean & Penn. Having read some earlier reviews can only say that any surly or rude staff must have been on their own holiday as the staff we encountered were very professional and looked after us. I now understand that a Tescos is not going to be built on the site so its future is not now in doubt.
OK it is not 5 stars but offers good value for the money. Whilst there Golden star real ale was £3.75 a pint.... not too dear for a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherborne Hotel

Address: Horsecastles Lane, Sherborne DT9 6BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sherborne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Sherborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Sherborne
The Sherborne Hotel Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherborne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.