We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sherborne Castle

Sherborne Castle
New Road | Sherborne, Sherborne DT9 5NR, England
01935812072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Sherborne
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Sherborne castle is great for a lazy day out. We enjoyed wandering the gardens and visiting the castle. The history o the place is most interesting and they's done a great job of explaining everything with story cards in every room. There are also guides in each room who can tell you more about the room and items in it.

Only disappointment was the tea room. The food options were limited. Our meals were okay but nothing to write home about. Portions were on the small side.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very interesting day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I didn't know about this castle or it's connection with Sir Walter Raleigh. We were staying in the area so only found this by accident but am pleased we did. When touring the castle make sure to pick up the laminates with the stories, there are 2 laminates and the other details all the contents and points of interest for each room. The story cards give you the history and background of the family who predominantly occupied the castle. We had cake and coffee on site and this didn't break the bank either. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

To start with we were given good information at the pay desk. We only wanted to do the gardens and were advised that there is a 45 minute walk around the lake and a shorter one of 30 mins. We were also advised when it would probably rain. We opted for the very pleasant 45 minute walk with lots of interesting historical points to see. It was a lovely walk and we took our time with stops on benches to take in the views. If we had not been warned of the rain, we would have done the other walk. Instead we went to the tea rooms and had a very good Dorset Cream Tea - £8 for two. This was a good choice as I noticed that customers ordering anything that had to be prepared were in for a long wait. We were able to take ours straight away. Plenty of tables inside and out.
The loos by the shop seemed new and very clean and presentable. The shop sold some interesting gifts and jams.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

this was a lovely place to visit the grounds are so lovely to walk round as it has a lovely lake so many nice trees and inside the castle there is lovely things to see pictures .and lots of lovely crockery

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Beautiful gardens and an interesting castle containing a lot of memorabilia and history of the Digby family (owners for 500 years). A nice café is onsite.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherborne Castle also viewed

 

Been to Sherborne Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherborne Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.