We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherborne Abbey

Sherborne Abbey
Abbey Close, Sherborne, England
01935/812452
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent my days wondering around Sherborne and found myself several times here in the Abbey. This is one of my most beautiful Parish Churches I have seen. Parts of it date back to 705AD and others much newer but all so beautiful. I met the most incredible locals here also who were very willing to share the history and their love for their Abbey.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    43
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you are in Sherborne this is well worth a visit. I live nearby and try to visit the Abbey as frequently as I can and whenever I have friends visiting from outside of Dorset.
The Abbey itself is truly stunning but even better the volunteers working there are always happy to show you around and tell you more information about the windows, the history or anything else you express an interest in.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Abbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a really beautiful Abbey with lovely vaulted ceiling and many interesting displays. Well worth a visit. Beautiful at night when it is lit up.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quite lovely with wonderful atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Abbey is quite central to the town. It is placed on a flat terraine and is easily accessed. A beautiful building with a solid and strong bearing. Quite a peaceful and yet grand atmosphere. The pretty park it nearby and the nearby buildings are very beautiful.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Abbey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We made a short afternoon visit to the Abbey. We met someone who gave us pamphlets and she was really welcoming. The Abbey is very well preserved and didn't even look like it was built many long years ago. Most of all, I love the history behind it. The organs was so splendid I couldn't take my eyes off them!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherborne Abbey also viewed

 
 

Been to Sherborne Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherborne Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.