We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Eastbury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sherborne
New Forest
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed on a travelzoo deal, but paid £40 extra to upgrade to a " luxury room ". Our room was very large & beautifully furnished with an enormous bed & beautiful linen. There was a deep bath tub in the corner of the room, & a modern ensuite shower room.The shower was slightly disappointing as the shower head was the wrong shape for the holder, & kept falling out.
A lovely touch was a jar containing home made shoertbread biscuits.
We found the whole hotel to be over heated & turned the radiators off in our room. With windows open we were disturbed by traffic very early.
The 7 course taster menu was exquisite. Beatifully presented & delicious. My partner had the accomanying " wine flight " - a selected wine for each course, which was well worth the £20 charge, & a brilliant opportunity to try some great wines.
Breakfast was very good, with a large selection of compotes & fresh fruits, yoghrts, cerals etc, followed by a good choice of cooked items, all locally sourced.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    98
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
32
228
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I can honestly say that I cannot fault this Hotel at all. My partner and I stayed for one night only unfortunately, but we were welcomed by a friendly and helpful lady on Reception and shown to our room. We had a room at the top of the building up a very steep staircase so if you have mobility issues be sure to tell them. However the room we were allocated was stunning, more like a flat than a bedroom. We booked the taster dinner in the restaurant which was delicious and service throughout was impeccable. Breakfast the next day was of the same high standard. I don't think you would be disappointed if you booked to stay here and I hope that we will visit again soon. Sherborne is a lovely little town and the Hotel in walking distance of all facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed on a Travelzoo Deal. We were pleased with our spacious well equipped room and bathroom, though would have preferred a bath rather than the shower. I was particularly impressed with the cafeteria and ground coffee so much nicer than the usual instant that one finds in hotel bedrooms. The 7 course taster dinner was as good as I have had anywhere and that includes Gordon Ramsey and Michael Caines. That the food was locally sourced was pleasing as was the white wine from the Sherborne Castle estate.

Our bed was very comfortable and the bed linen was fine quality. A bed side radio would have made things perfect. I wonder why TV manufacturers don't allow the screen to be turned off when a radio station is selected?

Breakfast was very well cooked, the porridge was excellent. The staff in the restaurant were all helpful and welcoming. My value rating is based on the Travelzoo Deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Eastbury about a week ago. Not a long stay, just one night on a Travelzoo voucher to include a 7 course tasting menu.

Our expectations were not, to be honest, high but this hotel does everything to make you welcome and comfortable. All the staff, from those we met at reception through to breakfast the next morning were incredibly friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel industry. The room was very nice too and the food fantastic. We've eaten in many restaurants but the 7 course taster menu was nothing short of fantastic and breakfast the next morning was also excellent.

There aren't many hotels where, if we could, we'd return the next day but this is one of them. For anyone who's considering going, don't hesitate. This hotel is brilliant!

Room Tip: Lovely garden at the rear if you can get this view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at The Eastbury using a Travel Zoo Voucher and enjoyed a fantastic 7 Course taster dinner menu in the Conservatory Restaurant. Our room (The Geranium) was tastefully decorated, very clean and although it was situated overlooking the main road, that was not a problem.

The breakfast was also superb with a varied breakfast including fruit, cereals, salmon and scrambled eggs, full english, big pots of coffee etc.

We had a great stay and will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed overnight in the Eastbury last week, in Sycamore. The room is large and well equipped. Fresh coffee and homemade biscuits are provided. The kingsize bed was very comfortable with luxurious bed linen. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean.

Our breakfast is one of the best we've had with all local produce. Every member of staff we encountered was lovely. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a very enjoyable time here, lovely food and good dining service, room excellent, everything you need, very pleasant young lady cleaning our room, made us feel very welcome.
The reception on arrival was okay, but very poor on departure.

Room Tip: room at front some back rooms have a noisy air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eastbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.