We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Eastbury Hotel to your Saves list
The Eastbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sherborne
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing value and wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed overnight in the Eastbury last week, in Sycamore. The room is large and well equipped. Fresh coffee and homemade biscuits are provided. The kingsize bed was very comfortable with luxurious bed linen. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean.

Our breakfast is one of the best we've had with all local produce. Every member of staff we encountered was lovely. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    109
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
36
257
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a very enjoyable time here, lovely food and good dining service, room excellent, everything you need, very pleasant young lady cleaning our room, made us feel very welcome.
The reception on arrival was okay, but very poor on departure.

Room Tip: room at front some back rooms have a noisy air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We used a volucher deal and enjoyed the wonderful taster dinner menu. We upgraded to a superior room and it was chic, tasteful, very clean and quiet. Food was superb with a varied breakfast including kippers, freshly squeezed fruit juice, porridge, etc. Conveniently located with parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Eastbury and would warmly recommend it. It’s a nineteenth century building, smart and well maintained with lovely gardens. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable if a little dated. Friends of ours were staying as well and their room was much more contemporary chic so I wonder if they’re updating a bit at a time. We ate in the restaurant on Friday evening and it was pretty good. I had partridge which was slightly bland and a touch dry but came with pulled pork ravioli which was exceptional, I accompanied it with a couple of glasses of house red, no idea what it was but it was good. My wife and our friends all had fish and chips which they enjoyed and the presentation was brilliant, the chips came in a mini fryer baskets with a little spray for the vinegar, a nice touch that shows they apply some though to what they do. Breakfast was good on both days; generous portions and good quality food much of it locally sourced. Personally I found the eggs were a touch overcooked while the sausages could have done with longer and I always miss the absence of some slop, for me a grilled tomato is a poor substitute for tinned or beans but generally I was happy and they provided as much toast and tea or coffee as you wanted.
I found the staff at the Eastbury absolutely outstanding. They were without exception extremely pleasant, engaged themselves with the guests to just the right degree and willingly accommodated every request we made. I thought they were excellent and they made what could have been a merely satisfactory stay into a really good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a voucher deal inc "Taster menu" dinner.
The dinner was great - had some really interesting courses with mainly locally sourced food, very well prepared and presented. The staff were very helpful in explaining each course. Went for the "wine flight" deal (£20 pp extra) but we thought it was well worth it for the range, style and quality of the wines served up for each course - the black muscat dessert wine was outstanding. Be aware this is a fixed menu with no shortage of local beef, lamb, seafood etc so no use for veggies etc.
Breakfast was equally enjoyable (no wine this time!).
We asked for a quiet room and go it - up on the top floor "in the gods". Quirky set-up but spacious and clean.
Good location within easy walking distance of town, castles etc.
All in all an excellent voucher offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for three nights on a short break in Lily one of the Luxury rooms.The room was large with a four poster bed.The bed itself was large and comfortable.The room was very clean.The bathroom which only had a hand held shower was looking a little tired but was perfectly adequate.
The staff were very friendly and when required attentive.
Before booking I explained i had dietary requirements and the receptionist read through the Bistro Menu which provided the choice I needed.When we arrived at the hotel only two days later we found the menu had changed and my main course choices were severely limited.The waitress Jo Jo was extremely helpful in getting alternative main courses sorted for nights 2 and 3.The starters and desserts were no problem.
All the food including breakfast was excellent except for my main course on the second night grilled plaice which was very poor.I mentioned this quietly to Jo Jo and she talked to the chef who apologised.The use of local produce was impressive.
I thought the room rate for B&B was slightly expensive but the overall short break cost was fair.
The location of the hotel is excellent within a five minute walk of the centre of Sherbourne.
The secure parking at the rear is a bonus

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as quieter and overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (England)
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is sited about ten minutes walk from the railway station, about five minutes from the Abbey and the main shopping street. It is on a road out of town, but the road was not busy, and the location is quiet.

There is a pleasant lounge and a large garden.

My standard single room was on the top, second floor, a reasonable sized single. Conventional décor. Well lit. Television with wide range of TV and radio channels. Reasonable sound insulation. Tea/coffee/hot chocoloate/biscuits in the room.

Bathroom was cramped. Feeble shower pressure (might be better on lower floors). Good thick towels on heated rail, also dressing gown, flannel. Nice toiletries, body lotion.

Breakfast was really good. Large bright room, overlooking the garden, plenty of space between tables. Cold buffet included imaginatively prepared fruit bowls, and freshly squeezed orange juice. Cheese available on request. Cooked breakfast including porrage and warm croissant available to order. Good quality materials. Very friendly staff, everything attractively served, modern design china.

Dinner was good too, modern British with imaginative flavours that came off, same pleasant garden dining room as breakfast, same friendly staff. Food served to look atractive. Only one main course option for vegetarians.

All in all very good indeed (apart from shower pressure)

Room Tip: Shower pressure might be better on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eastbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.